Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Asian and Asian American Studies
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty and Staff

Name Information
Dr. Teri A. Yamada
Dr. Barbara W. Kim
  • Vice Chair, Grad and Undergrad Adviser
  • Office: FO3-334
  • Phone: (562) 985-7530
  • E-mail: barbara.kim@csulb.edu
  • Tues & Thurs 3:30-5:00 p.m. and Wed 12:30 p.m.-3 p.m.
Dr. Haiping Wu
  • Assistant Professor in Chinese Studies
  • Office: FO3-338
  • Phone: (562) 985-8085
  • E-mail: haiping.wu@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 9:30-11:30 p.m. or by appointment
Ann Chau
  • Administrative Support Coordinator and Study Abroad Adviser
  • Office: FO3-340
  • Phone: (562) 985-4645
  • E-mail: ann.chau@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon, Tues, and Wed – 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Wed 8:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. and Fri 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Dr. Hiroko Kataoka
  • Professor and Adviser for the Japanese Program
  • Office: FO3-321
  • Phone: (562) 985-4030
  • E-mail: hiroko.kataoka@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon 11:00-12:00 p.m., Wed 10:00-11:00 a.m., Thurs 2:00-3:00 p.m., or by appointment
Dr. Masako Douglas
  • Professor for the Japanese Program
  • Office: FO3-332
  • Phone: (562) 985-5280
  • E-mail: masako.douglas@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Wed 11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. or by appointment
Dr. Kiyomi Chinen
  • Associate Professor for the Japanese program
  • Office: FO3-330
  • Phone: (562) 985-5277
  • E-mail: k.chinen@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tues and Wed,8:45 a.m.-9:45 a.m. & Thurs 12:00 -1:00 p.m. 
Dr. Ruixi Ai
  • Associate Professor in Chinese Studies and Chinese Studies Program Advisor
  • Office: FO3-319
  • Phone: (562) 985-5493
  • E-mail: ruixi.ai@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Instructor is not teaching this semester
Dr. Linda Maram
  • Professor of ASAM Studies
  • Office: FO3-317
  • Phone: (562) 985-4822
  • E-mail: linda.maram@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: TBD
Dr. Dean S. Toji
  • Assistant Professor of ASAM Studies
  • Office: FO3-304
  • Phone: (562) 985-1668
  • E-mail: dean.toji@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: TBD
Chuc Bui
  • Lecturer for the Vietnamese language courses
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: quyendi.bui@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: Mon & Wed 2:15-3:15 p.m., or by appointment.
Dr. Sam Coleman
Lawrence S. Hashima
  • Lecturer in ASAM Studies
  • Office: FO3-317
  • Phone: (562) 985-4822
  • E-mail: lhashima@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: TBD
Kumiko Kitagawa
  • Lecturer for the Japanese language program
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: kumiko.kitagawa@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon & Thurs 10:10-10:40 a.m., Wed 10:10-11:10 p.m., or by appointment
Haley Ariel Lee
  • Lecturer for the Korean language courses
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: akimucla@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: Mon & Wed 7:30-8:30 a.m., or by appointment
JiHyun Park
  • Lecturer for the Korean language courses
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: jiparkusc@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: Mon & Wed 4:15- 6:05 p.m. or by appointment
Truc HaMai
  • Lecturer for ASAM
  • Office: FO3-315
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: truc.ha@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 4:00 – 4:30 p.m. or by appointment
Outey Khuon
  • Lecturer for the Khmer (Cambodian) language courses
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • Email: okhuon@lbusd.k12.ca.us
  • Office Hours: Instructor is not teaching this semester
Chiu-Chin Chang
  • Lecturer in Chinese Studies
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: chiu-chin.chang@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours:  30 minutes before and after class in LA2-104
Jeff Winters
  • Lecturer in Chinese Studies
  • Language Lab Director
  • Office: LAB-303
  • Phone: (562) 985-1082
  • E-mail: jeff.winters@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: TBD
Debra Whittaker
  • Lecturer for the Asian Studies program
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: dwhittaker@lbcc.edu
  • Office Hours: TBD
Xiaowen Wu
  • Lecturer in Chinese Studies
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: xiaowen.wu@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon 2-3:30 p.m. Tues 11:00 a.m. -12:30 p.m. or by appointment
Jessica Chen
  • Lecturer in Chinese Studies
  • Office: LA5-269
  • Phone: (562) 985-4515
  • E-mail: Hsiao-Fen.Liu@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: TBD
Ivy Daulo
  • Lecturer for ASAM & Filipino (Tagalog) language classes 
  • Office: FO3-317
  • Phone: (562) 985-4822
  • E-mail: mailto:ivy.daulo@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tues 9:30-11:30 a.m., 3:30-4:30 p.m. or by appointment
Lethia Cobbs
  • Lecturer for ASAM
  • Office: FO3-315
  • Phone:
  • E-mail: lethia.cobbs@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tues 2:00-3:00 p.m. or by appointment
Josh Nettles
  • Lecturer for Asian Studies
  • Office: LAB-306C
  • Phone: N/A
  • E-mail: jnettles17@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: Mon 1:00-2:00 p.m.
Sherwin Sales
  • Lecturer for ASAM
  • Office: FO3-315
  • Phone: (562) 985-5278
  • E-mail: Sherwin.sales@gmail.com
  • Office Hours: Wed 2:00-3:00 p.m. or by appointment
Rowena Robles
  • Lecturer for ASAM
  • Office: FO3-315
  • Phone: (562) 985-7530
  • E-mail: rowena.robles@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Mon & Tues 9:45- 11:45 a.m. or by appointment
 Eric Wat
  • Lecturer for ASAM
  • Office: FO3-315
  • Phone: (562) 985-7530
  • E-mail: eric.wat@csulb.edu
  • Office Hours: Tues 2:30 – 3:30 p.m. or by appointment
  Sarah Miralles
  • Lecturer for ASAM
  • Office: FO3-315
  • Phone: (562) 985-7530
  • E-mail: TBD
  • Office Hours: BD
  Benjamin Frochtzwajg
  • Teaching Assistant in Asian Studies
  • Office: FO3-315
  • Phone: (562) 985-7530
  • E-mail: TBD
  • Office Hours:TBD