Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

Faculty/Staff Information Photo

R. Scott Wilson
Department Chair
Email: Scott.Wilson@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5172
Office: F03-303
Office Hours Fall 2019: Tuesdays 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM & Wednesdays 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Research and Teaching Focus: Race and ethnicity, transnational media, cultural production; Taiwan, Global East Asia

Webpage: Scott Wilson

R. Scott Wilson

Steven Rousso-Schindler
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
Email: Steven.Rousso-Schindler@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8179
Office: FO3-320
Office Hours Fall 2019: By appointment only on Tuesdays 12:30 PM – 2:30 PM, Wednesdays 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM, & Thursdays 2:30 PM – 3:30 PM
To schedule an advising or office hours appointment, please use the following link:
https://calendly.com/csulbanthropologyadvising/undergraduate-advising
Research and Teaching Focus: Visual anthropology and anthropology of Palestine/Israel, national narrative theory, narrative theory, demography, Middle East anthropology, medical anthropology; Israel/Palestine, United States, rural China

Webpage: Steven Rousso-Schindler

Steven Rousso-Schindler

Wendy Klein
Associate Professor & Graduate Advisor
Email: Wendy.Klein@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8828
Office: LA1-108
Office Hours Fall 2019: Tuesdays 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM, 5:00 PM – 6:00 PM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Linguistic anthropology, ethnography of communication, language socialization, narrative, language ideology; Japan, Northern India, United States

Webpage: Wendy Klein

Wendy Klein

Jayne Howell
Professor
Email: Jayne.Howell@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5192
Office: FO3-312
Office Hours Fall 2019: Mondays 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM, Tuesdays 3:15 PM – 3:45 PM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Education and employment, gender, migration, urban anthropology, ethnohistory, tourism, Mexico; Mexico, Latin America

Webpage: Jayne Howell

Jayne Howell Picture

Barbara LeMaster
Professor
Email: Barbara.LeMaster@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5037
Office: F03-322
Office Hours Fall 2019: For ASLD 101: Tuesdays and Thursdays 3:30 PM – 4:00 PM; For ASLD 424: Thursdays 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM; For ANTH/LING 170: Tuesdays 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM
Research and Teaching Focus: Ethnicity and gender, applied linguistics, deaf languages and culture, interpreting and translation, intercultural communication, applied anthropology, anthropology and education, urban anthropology, medical anthropology; Ireland, Southern California

Webpage: Barbara LeMaster & www.csulb.edu/~lemaster/

Barbara LeMaster

Ron Loewe
Professor
Email: Ronald.Loewe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5034
Office: F03-324
Office Hours Fall 2019: On sabbatical leave
Research and Teaching Focus: Medical anthropology, applied anthropology, Maya language, culture and politics, tourism; Mexico, Latin America

Webpage: Ron Loewe

Ron Loewe

Kara Miller
Assistant Professor 
Email: Kara.Miller@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5186
Office: FO3-310
Office Hours Fall 2019:  Mondays 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM, Wednesdays 12:30 PM – 2:30 PM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Embodiment, political ecology, healers and healing, environmental resources, development, women’s studies, selfhood, futures, empowerment

Webpage: Kara Miller

 

Hector Neff
Professor
Email: Hector.Neff@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4468
Office: PH1-202
Office Hours Fall 2019: Tuesdays & Thursdays 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology, archaeometry, evolutionary theory, origins of agriculture, quantitative methods; Mesoamerica, Southwest United States, South America

Hector Neff Picture

Karen Quintiliani
Professor
Email: Karen.Quintiliani@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-1301
Office: FO3-314
Office Hours Fall 2019: By appointment only
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and applied anthropology, social welfare, public policy, gender, and sexuality; North America, Southeast Asia

Webpage: Karen Quintiliani

Marcus Young Owl
Professor
Email: Marcus.YoungOwl@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5179
Office: FO3-316
Office Hours Fall 2019: Mondays & Tuesdays 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Research and Teaching Focus: Primate anatomy and comparative biology, evolutionary theory, anatomical lexicon, history of physical anthropology and anatomy, science education

Webpage: Marcus Young Owl

Marcus Young Owl

 

Lecturer Information Photo

Bridget Alex
Email:
Bridget.Alex@csulb.edu
Phone: 
Office:
FO5-229
Office Hours Fall 2019: 
Mondays 4:00 PM – 5:00 PM, Wednesdays 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: 
Paleoanthropology, human evolution, hominin extinctions, modern human origins and diversity, molecular anthropology, public engagement, science communication

WebpageBridget Alex

Luzilda Carrillo
Email: Luzilda.Carrillo@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2721
Office: FO3-309
Office Hours Fall 2019: Thursdays 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Critical race studies, corporations, capitalism, economic anthropology, science and technology studies, feminism, communication, and semiotics

WebpageLuzilda Carrillo

Denise Cucurny
Email: Denise.Cucurny@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours Fall 2019: Tuesdays & Thursdays 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Cross-cultural healing, primate behavior & anatomy, human variation & evolution

Denise Cucurny

Thomas J. Douglas
Email: Thomas.Douglas@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5170
Office: FO3-318
Office Hours Fall 2019: Mondays 3:30 PM – 4:30 PM, Tuesdays & Thursdays 3:30 PM – 4:30 PM, Wednesdays 7:00 PM – 7:50 PM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and economic anthropology, religion, culture; California, Washington, Cambodian immigrants

Webpage: Thomas Douglas

Thomas J. Douglas

Yimin Lai
Email:
Yimin.Lai@csulb.edu
Phone:
(562) 985-2721
Office:
FO3-309
Office Hours Fall 2019:
Mondays 2:00 PM – 4:30 PM or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: 
Ethnographies of schooling, business cultures, transnationalism, personhood, comparative philosophy, political economy, popular culture

Linda D. Light
Email: Linda.Light@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours Fall 2019: Mondays & Wednesdays 10:45 AM – 11:45 AM, Tuesdays & Thursdays 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Guatemalan Maya in Los Angeles, language, gender/ethnicity

Webpage: Linda Light

Linda D. Light

Melissa Sue Maceyko
Email: Melissa.Maceyko@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5170
Office: FO3-318
Office Hours Fall 2019: Tuesdays 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Linguistic Anthropology, Language Ideology, Political Anthropology, Democratic Participation, Corruption, Gender and Sexuality; North America; Melanesia

Webpage: Melissa Sue Maceyko

 

Mihir Pandya
Email: Mihir.Pandya@csulb.edu
Phone:  (562) 985-5171
Office: FO5-212
Office Hours Fall 2019: Mondays & Wednesdays 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Science and technology, knowledge and expertise, security and infrastructure, diversity and generation; United States, India

 mihir-pandya-photo

Sachiko Sakai
Email: Sachiko.Sakai@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-1916
Office: FO5-230
Office Hours Fall 2019: Tuesdays 4:00 PM – 5:00 PM, Thursdays 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM, or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology of the Southwest United States, ceramic production, and exchange, ceramic source study, luminescence dating, chemical compositional analysis, evolutionary archaeology

Webpage: Sachiko Sakai

Sachiko Sakai

Jeanelle Uy
Email:
Jeanelle.Uy@csulb.edu
Phone:

Office: FO5-229
Office Hours Fall 2019: Tuesdays 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM or by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: 
Biological anthropology, modern human and primate skeletal and gut anatomy, evolution of torso anatomy, human and primate evolution, fossil hominins

 

Emeriti Faculty

James Gregory, James.Gregory@csulb.edu
Daniel O. Larson, Daniel.Larson@csulb.edu
Eugene Ruyle, Eugene.Ruyle@csulb.edu
Kaoru Oguri, Kaoru_Oguri@hotmail.com
George Scott, George.Scott@csulb.edu
Namika Raby, Namika.Raby@csulb.edu

 

In Memoriam

Dr. Robert Harman

Dr. Keith Dixon

Alexandra Jaffe

Dr. Alexandra Jaffe

Dr. Pamela Bunte