Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Anthropology Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty and Staff

Faculty/Staff Information Image of Faculty/Staff
Karen Quintiliani (Department Chair)
Email: Karen.Quintiliani@csulb.edu
Phone:(562) 985-1301
Office: F03-303
Office Hours Spring 2017:  By appointment only
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and applied anthropology, social welfare, public policy, gender and sexuality; North America, Southeast Asia.
Webpage: Karen Quintiliani
Karen Quintiliani Picture

Mitra Baghdadi (Department Coordinator)
Email: Mitra.Baghdadi@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5171
Office: FO3-305
Office Hours: M-F 9:00am-12:00pm & 1:00pm-5:00pm

Webpage: Mitra Baghdadi

Mitra Baghdadi Picture

Zachary DuBois
Assistant Professor Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Amherst 2012
Email: Zachary.DuBois@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2721  
Office: FO3-314
Office Hours Spring 2017: W 11:00am-12:00pm, 3:20pm-4:20pm, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Biological anthropology; anthropology of stress response; immune function and disease risk; biocultural interactions; reproductive ecology; sex and gender; anthropology of the body

Webpage: Zachary DuBois

 
Jayne Howell
Professor
Email: Jayne.Howell@csulb.edu
Office: FO3-312
Phone: (562) 985-5192
Office Hours Spring 2017: W 2:45pm-3:45pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Education and employment, gender, migration, urban anthropology, ethnohistory, tourism, Mexico; Mexico, Latin America
Webpage: Jayne Howell
Jayne Howell Picture
Alexandra Jaffe
Professor & Grad Advisor
Email: Alexandra.Jaffe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2594
Office: PSY-114
Office Hours Spring 2017: 
Research and Teaching Focus: Minority language planning and politics, language ideology, anthropology and education, bilingual education, language in the media, orthography and transcription, sociolinguistics
Webpage: Alexandra Jaffe
Alexandra Jaffe Picture
Wendy Klein
Associate Professor
Email: W.Klein@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8828
Office: PSY-221
Office Hours Spring 2017: 
Research and Teaching Focus: Linguistic anthropology, ethnography of communication, language socialization, narrative, language ideology; Japan, Northern India, United States
Webpage: Wendy Klein
Wendy Klein Picture
Barbara LeMaster
Professor
Email: Barbara.LeMaster@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5037
Office: F03-322
Office Hours Spring 2017: W 2:00pm-3:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Ethnicity and gender, applied linguistics, deaf languages and culture, interpreting and translation, intercultural communication, applied anthropology, anthropology and education, urban anthropology, medical anthropology; Ireland, Southern California
Webpage: Barbara LeMaster & www.csulb.edu/~lemaster/
Barbara LeMaster Picture
Ron Loewe
Professor
Email: Ronald.Loewe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5034
Office: F03-324
Office Hours Spring 2017: Tu 10:00am-12:00pm, 2:00pm-3:00pm, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Medical anthropology, applied anthropology, Maya language, culture and politics, tourism; Mexico, Latin America
Webpage: Ron Loewe
Ron Loewe Picture
Hector Neff
Professor
Email: Hector.Neff@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4468
Office: PH1-202
Office Hours Spring 2017: 
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology, archaeometry, evolutionary theory, origins of agriculture, quantitative methods; Mesoamerica, Southwest United States, South America
Hector Neff Picture
Steven Rousso-Schindler
Associate
Professor
Email: Steven.Rousso-Schindler@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8179
Office: FO3-320
Office Hours Spring 2017: W 1:00pm-3:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Visual anthropology and anthropology of Palestine/Israel, national narrative theory, narrative theory, demography, Middle East anthropology, medical anthropology; Israel/Palestine, United States, rural China
Webpage: Steven Rousso-Schindler
Steven Rousso-Schindler Picture
   
R. Scott Wilson
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
Email: Scott.Wilson@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5172
Office: F03-318
Office Hours Spring 2017: Th 1:00pm-3:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Race and ethnicity, transnational media, cultural production; Taiwan, Global East Asia
Webpage: Scott Wilson & http://www.anthropologyandfilm.net
R. Scott Wilson Picture
Marcus Young Owl
Professor
Email: Dr.YoungOwl@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5179
Office: FO3-316
Office Hours Spring 2017: M-Th 11:00am-12pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Primate anatomy and comparative biology, evolutionary theory, anatomical lexicon, history of physical anthropology and anatomy, science education
Webpage: Marcus Young Owl
Marcus Young Owl Picture

 

   
Denise Cucurny
Email: Denise.Cucurny@csulb.edu
Phone:(562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours Spring 2017: Tu/Th 12:30pm-1:45pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Cross-cultural healing, primate behavior & anatomy, human variation & evolution
Denise Cucurny Picture
Thomas J Douglas
Email: Thomas.Douglas@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5170
Office: FO3-309
Office Hours Spring 2017: 
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and economic anthropology, religion, culture; California, Washington, Cambodian immigrants
Webpage: Thomas Douglas
Thomas Douglas Picture

Linda D Light
Email: Linda.Light@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours Spring 2017: M/W 11:am-12:00pm, Tu/Th 9:30am-11:00am, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Guatemalan Maya in Los Angeles, language, gender/ethnicity.
Webpage: Linda Light

Linda Light Picture
Melissa Sue Maceyko
Email: Melissasue.Maceyko@csulb.edu
Phone:
Office: FO5-212
Office Hours Spring 2017: 
Research and Teaching Focus: M 3:30pm-5:00pm, Tu 11:00am-12:00pm, & by appointment

Research and Teaching Focus: Linguistic Anthropology, Language Ideology, Political Anthropology, Democratic Participation, Corruption, Gender and Sexuality; North America; Melanesia

 
Mihir Pandya
Email: Mihir.Pandya@csulb.edu
Phone
Office: FO5-212
Office Hours Spring 2017: M/W 5:00pm-6:15pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus:
 mihir-pandya-photo
Namika Raby
Email: Namika.Raby@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5186
Office: F03-310
Office Hours Spring 2017: M/W 1:00pm-2:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Development anthropology, cross-cultural community management of water resources, gender & development; Southeast Asia, United States
Webpage: Namika Raby & http://namikaraby.com/
 Namika Raby Picture

Sachiko Sakai
Email: Sachikosak@gmail.com
Phone: (562) 985-1916
Office: FO5-230
Office Hours Spring 2017: M 1:00pm-2:00pm, Tu 9:30am-10:30am, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology of the Southwest United States, ceramic production, and exchange, ceramic source study, luminescence dating, chemical compositional analysis, evolutionary archaeology
Webpage: Sachiko Sakai

Sachika Sakai Picture
Alicia Vacca
Email: alicia.vacca@csulb.edu
Phone: 985-5186
Office: FO3-310
Office Hours Spring 2017: Tu 2:00pm-4:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Cultural and Linguistic Anthropology, Language Revitalization, Language Ideologies, Language and Identity, Language in Education, sociolinguistics; Hawaii, Polynesia
 AVphoto

Emeriti Faculty

Information

Keith Dixon, Keith.Dixon@csulb.edu
James Gregory, James.Gregory@csulb.edu
Robert Harman, Robert.Harman@csulb.edu
Daniel O. Larson, Daniel.Larson@csulb.edu
Eugene Ruyle, Eugene.Ruyle@csulb.edu
Kaoru Oguri, Kaoru_Oguri@hotmail.com

George Scott, George.Scott@csulb.edu