Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

Faculty/Staff Information Image of Faculty/Staff

Karen Quintiliani (Department Chair)
Email: Karen.Quintiliani@csulb.edu
Phone:(562) 985-1301
Office: F03-303
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues/Thurs 12:00-1:00pm by appointment only
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and applied anthropology, social welfare, public policy, gender and sexuality; North America, Southeast Asia.

Webpage: Karen Quintiliani

Karen Quintiliani Picture

Mitra Baghdadi (Department Coordinator)
Email: Mitra.Baghdadi@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5171
Office: FO3-305
Office Hours: Mon-Fri 9:00am-12:00pm & 1:00pm-5:00pm

Webpage: Mitra Baghdadi

Mitra Baghdadi Picture

Zachary DuBois
Assistant Professor Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Amherst 2012
Email: Zachary.DuBois@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2721  
Office: FO3-314
Office Hours Spring 2018: Mon/Wed 4:00-5:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Biological anthropology; anthropology of stress response; immune function and disease risk; biocultural interactions; reproductive ecology; sex and gender; anthropology of the body

Webpage: Zachary DuBois

 

Jayne Howell
Professor
Email: Jayne.Howell@csulb.edu
Office: FO3-312
Phone: (562) 985-5192
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues 1:55-2:55pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Education and employment, gender, migration, urban anthropology, ethnohistory, tourism, Mexico; Mexico, Latin America

Webpage: Jayne Howell

Jayne Howell Picture

Alexandra Jaffe
Professor 
Email: Alexandra.Jaffe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2594
Office: PSY-114
Office Hours Spring 2018: Mon 5:45-6:45pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Minority language planning and politics, language ideology, anthropology and education, bilingual education, language in the media, orthography and transcription, sociolinguistics

Webpage: Alexandra Jaffe

Alexandra Jaffe Picture

Wendy Klein
Associate Professor& Grad Advisor
Email: W.Klein@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8828
Office: PSY-221
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues 3:30-5:30pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Linguistic anthropology, ethnography of communication, language socialization, narrative, language ideology; Japan, Northern India, United States

Webpage: Wendy Klein

Wendy Klein Picture

Barbara LeMaster
Professor
Email: Barbara.LeMaster@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5037
Office: F03-322
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues 3:30-4:30pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Ethnicity and gender, applied linguistics, deaf languages and culture, interpreting and translation, intercultural communication, applied anthropology, anthropology and education, urban anthropology, medical anthropology; Ireland, Southern California

Webpage: Barbara LeMaster & www.csulb.edu/~lemaster/

Barbara LeMaster Picture

Ron Loewe
Professor
Email: Ronald.Loewe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5034
Office: F03-324
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues 2:00-4:00pm, Wed 4:00-6:00pm, & by appintment
Research and Teaching Focus: Medical anthropology, applied anthropology, Maya language, culture and politics, tourism; Mexico, Latin America

Webpage: Ron Loewe

Ron Loewe Picture

Hector Neff
Professor
Email: Hector.Neff@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4468
Office: PH1-202
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues/Thurs 10:00am-12:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology, archaeometry, evolutionary theory, origins of agriculture, quantitative methods; Mesoamerica, Southwest United States, South America

Hector Neff Picture

Steven Rousso-Schindler
Associate Professor
Email: Steven.Rousso-Schindler@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8179
Office: FO3-320
Office Hours Spring 2018: On Sabbatical
Research and Teaching Focus: Visual anthropology and anthropology of Palestine/Israel, national narrative theory, narrative theory, demography, Middle East anthropology, medical anthropology; Israel/Palestine, United States, rural China

Webpage: Steven Rousso-Schindler

Steven Rousso-Schindler Picture

R. Scott Wilson
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
Email: Scott.Wilson@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5172
Office: F03-318
Office Hours Spring 2018: Mon 11:00am-1:00pm, Tues 9:00-11:00am, Thurs 2:00-4:00pm, and by appointment 
Research and Teaching Focus: Race and ethnicity, transnational media, cultural production; Taiwan, Global East Asia
Webpage: Scott Wilson & http://www.anthropologyandfilm.net

R. Scott Wilson Picture

Marcus Young Owl
Professor
Email: Dr.YoungOwl@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5179
Office: FO3-316
Office Hours Spring 2018: Mon/Tues/Thurs 11:00am – 12:00pm,  Weds 11:00-11:45am, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Primate anatomy and comparative biology, evolutionary theory, anatomical lexicon, history of physical anthropology and anatomy, science education

Webpage: Marcus Young Owl

Marcus Young Owl Picture

 

Lecturers Image of Lecturer

Denise Cucurny
Email: Denise.Cucurny@csulb.edu
Phone:(562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues/Thurs 11:00am-12:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Cross-cultural healing, primate behavior & anatomy, human variation & evolution

Denise Cucurny Picture

Thomas J Douglas
Email: Thomas.Douglas@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5170
Office: FO3-309
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues/Thurs 12:30-1:30pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and economic anthropology, religion, culture; California, Washington, Cambodian immigrants

Webpage: Thomas Douglas

Thomas Douglas Picture

Linda D Light
Email: Linda.Light@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours Spring 2018: Mon/Wed 11:00am-12:00pm, Tues/Thurs 9:30-10:30, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Guatemalan Maya in Los Angeles, language, gender/ethnicity.

Webpage: Linda Light

Linda Light Picture

Melissa Sue Maceyko
Email: Melissa.Maceyko@csulb.edu
Phone: 562-985-5170
Office: FO3-309
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues/Wed 9:00-10:45am & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Linguistic Anthropology, Language Ideology, Political Anthropology, Democratic Participation, Corruption, Gender and Sexuality; North America; Melanesia

 

Mihir Pandya
Email: Mihir.Pandya@csulb.edu
Phone
Office: FO5-212
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues/Thurs 2:15-3:15pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Research and teaching focus: Science and technology, knowledge and expertise, security and infrastructure, diversity and generation; United States, India

 mihir-pandya-photo

Sachiko Sakai
Email: Sachikosak@gmail.com
Phone: (562) 985-1916
Office: FO5-230
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues/Thur 10:00-11:00am & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology of the Southwest United States, ceramic production, and exchange, ceramic source study, luminescence dating, chemical compositional analysis, evolutionary archaeology

Webpage: Sachiko Sakai

Sachika Sakai Picture

Alicia Vacca
Email: alicia.vacca@csulb.edu
Phone: 985-5186
Office: FO3-310
Office Hours Spring 2018: Tues 1:00-3:00pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Cultural and Linguistic Anthropology, Language Revitalization, Language Ideologies, Language and Identity, Language in Education, sociolinguistics; Hawaii, Polynesia

 AVphoto

 

Emeriti Faculty

Keith Dixon, Keith.Dixon@csulb.edu
James Gregory, James.Gregory@csulb.edu
Robert Harman, Robert.Harman@csulb.edu
Daniel O. Larson, Daniel.Larson@csulb.edu
Eugene Ruyle, Eugene.Ruyle@csulb.edu
Kaoru Oguri, Kaoru_Oguri@hotmail.com
George Scott, George.Scott@csulb.edu
Namika Raby, Namika.Raby@csulb.edu