Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Anthropology Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty and Staff

Faculty/Staff Information Image of Faculty/Staff
Karen Quintiliani (Department Chair)
Email: Karen.Quintiliani@csulb.edu
Phone:(562) 985-1301
Office: F03-303
Office Hours Spring 2016: W 12:00-1:00 & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and applied anthropology, social welfare, public policy, gender and sexuality; North America, Southeast Asia.
Webpage: Karen Quintiliani
Karen Quintiliani Picture
Mitra Baghdadi (Department Coordinator)
Email: Mitra.Baghdadi@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5171
Office: FO3-305
Office Hours: M-F 9:00am-5:00pm
Mitra Baghdadi Picture
Zachary DuBois
Assistant Professor PhD University of Massachusetts Amherst 2012
Email: Zachary.DuBois@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2721
Office: PSY 313
Office Hours Spring 2016: M 3:30-5:30 pm by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Biological anthropology; anthropology of stress response; immune function and disease risk; biocultural interactions; reproductive ecology; sex and gender; anthropology of the body
 
Jayne Howell
Professor
Email: Jayne.Howell@csulb.edu
Office: FO3-312
Phone: (562) 985-5192
Office Hours Spring 2016: M 3:20-4:50 pm, W 1:20-1:50 pm, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Education and employment, gender, migration, urban anthropology, ethnohistory, tourism, Mexico; Mexico, Latin America
Webpage: Jayne Howell
Jayne Howell Picture
Alexandra Jaffe
Professor & Grad Advisor
Email: Alexandra.Jaffe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2594
Office: PSY-415
Office Hours Spring 2016: Tu/Th 11:00 am-12:00 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Minority language planning and politics, language ideology, anthropology and education, bilingual education, language in the media, orthography and transcription, sociolinguistics
Webpage: Alexandra Jaffe
Alexandra Jaffe Picture
Wendy Klein
Associate Professor
Email: W.Klein@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8828
Office: PSY-221
Office Hours Spring 2016: M 3:30-4:30 pm, Tu/Th 2:00-4:00 pm, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Linguistic anthropology, ethnography of communication, language socialization, narrative, language ideology; Japan, Northern India, United States
Webpage: Wendy Klein
Wendy Klein Picture
Barbara LeMaster
Professor
Email: Barbara.LeMaster@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5037
Office: F03-322
Office Hours Spring 2016: Tu/Th 12:00-1:00 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Ethnicity and gender, applied linguistics, deaf languages and culture, interpreting and translation, intercultural communication, applied anthropology, anthropology and education, urban anthropology, medical anthropology; Ireland, Southern California
Webpage: Barbara LeMaster & www.csulb.edu/~lemaster/
Barbara LeMaster Picture
Ron Loewe
Professor
Email: Ronald.Loewe@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5034
Office: F03-324
Office Hours Spring 2016: Tu 10:00 am-12:00 pm, W 4:00-6:00 pm, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Medical anthropology, applied anthropology, Maya language, culture and politics, tourism; Mexico, Latin America
Webpage: Ron Loewe
Ron Loewe Picture
Hector Neff
Professor
Email: Hector.Neff@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4468
Office: PH1-202
Office Hours Spring 2016: by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology, archaeometry, evolutionary theory, origins of agriculture, quantitative methods; Mesoamerica, Southwest United States, South America
Hector Neff Picture
Steven Rousso-Schindler
Associate
Professor
Email: Steven.Rousso-Schindler@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-8179
Office: FO3-320
Office Hours Spring 2016: M 12:30-2:00 pm, 3:30-4:30 pm, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Visual anthropology and anthropology of Palestine/Israel, national narrative theory, narrative theory, demography, Middle East anthropology, medical anthropology; Israel/Palestine, United States, rural China
Webpage: Steven Rousso-Schindler
Steven Rousso-Schindler Picture
George Scott
Associate
Professor
Email: George.Scott@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5186
Office: F03-314
Office Hours Spring 2016: Tu/Th 3:00-4:00 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Anthropology and literature, cultural diversity, anthropology of religion, urban anthropology; South Asia and United States
George Scott Picture
R. Scott Wilson
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
Email: Scott.Wilson@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5172
Office: F03-318
Office Hours Spring 2016: M/W 2:00-4:30 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Race and ethnicity, transnational media, cultural production; Taiwan, global East Asia
Webpage: Scott Wilson & http://www.anthropologyandfilm.net
R. Scott Wilson Picture
Marcus Young Owl
Professor
Email: Dr.YoungOwl@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5179
Office: FO3-316
Office Hours Spring 2016: M/W 11:00 am-12:00 pm, Tu/Th 11:00 am-12:00 pm, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Primate anatomy and comparative biology, evolutionary theory, anatomical lexicon, history of physical anthropology and anatomy, science education
Webpage: Marcus Young Owl
Marcus Young Owl Picture
Faculty/Staff Information Image of Faculty/Staff
Denise Cucurny
Email: Denise.Cucurny@csulb.edu
Phone:(562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours Spring 2016: Tu/Th 12:30-2:00 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Cross-cultural healing, primate behavior & anatomy, human variation & evolution
Denise Cucurny Picture
Thomas J Douglas
Email: Thomas.Douglas@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5170
Office: PSY-315
Office Hours Spring 2016: Tu 12:30-1:30 pm, 3:20-4:20 pm; Th 3:20-3:55 pm; & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Urban and economic anthropology, religion, culture; California, Washington, Cambodian immigrants
Webpage: Thomas Douglas
Thomas Douglas Picture
Linda D Light
Email: Linda.Light@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5189
Office: LA5-159
Office Hours Spring 2016: M/W 10:00-11:00 am, 2:00-3:00 pm; Tu/Th 9:30-10:30 am; & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Guatemalan Maya in Los Angeles, language, gender/ethnicity.
Webpage: Linda Light
Linda Light Picture
Mihir Pandya
Email: Mihir.Pandya@csulb.edu
Phone:
Office: FO5-212
Office Hours Spring 2016: M/W 2:15-3:15 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus:
 
Namika Raby
Email: Namika.Raby@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5186
Office: F03-314
Office Hours Spring 2016: M/W 11:00 am-12:00 pm, Tu 11:00 am-12:15 pm, & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Development anthropology, cross-cultural community management of water resources, gender & development; Southeast Asia, United States
Webpage: Namika Raby & http://namikaraby.com/
Namika Raby Picture
Alicia Vacca
Email: alicia.vacca@csulb.edu
Phone: 985-5171
Office: FO5-212
Office Hours Spring 2016: Th 12:00-2:00 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus:
 
Sachiko Sakai
Email: Sachikosak@gmail.com
Phone: (562) 985-1916
Office: FO5-230
Office Hours Spring 2016: M/W 11:00am-12:00 pm & by appointment
Research and Teaching Focus: Archaeology of Southwest United States, ceramic production and exchange, ceramic source study, luminescence dating, chemical compositional analysis, evolutionary archaeology
Webpage: Sachiko Sakai
Sachika Sakai Picture

Emeriti Faculty

Information
Keith Dixon, Keith.Dixon@csulb.edu
James Gregory, James.Gregory@csulb.edu
Robert Harman, Robert.Harman@csulb.edu
Daniel O. Larson, Daniel.Larson@csulb.edu
Eugene Ruyle, Eugene.Ruyle@csulb.edu
Kaoru Oguri, Kaoru_Oguri@hotmail.com

    Contact us:


    For information or inquiries:
    Department of Anthropology, CSULB
    Location: FO3-305
    1250 Bellflower Blvd.
    Long Beach, CA 90840-1003

    Phone: 562-985-5171

    The Department of Anthropology Main Office is located in FO-3, Room 305. This is the third floor of the FO-3 (Faculty Office 3) building. The office is open 9:00am- 12:00 pm and 1:00-5:00pm, Monday through Friday. Closed noon to 1:00 pm for lunch.

    FacebookIcon

    News Highlights

    Upcoming Events

    • No events.