Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Communication Studies - Small Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty

Tenure/Tenure-Track Faculty

Professor Name Professor Information
Dr. Jessica Abrams (Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Area of expertise: Intergroup Communication and Media Effects
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-9141
  • Office location: AS-365
  • Email address: jessica.abrams@csulb.edu
Dr. Terre Allen (Ph.D., Louisiana State University)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication, Language and Social Interaction, Small Group Communication, Instructional Communication
  • Currently serving as the Director of the Center for Faculty Development
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-5260
  • Email address: terre.allen@csulb.edu
Dr. Jennifer Asenas (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)/Graduate Advisor
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Language
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7679
  • Office location: AS-373
  • Email address: jennifer.asenas@csulb.edu
Dr. Guy F. Bachman (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication
  • Office location: AS-371
  • Email address: guy.bachman@csulb.edu
Dr. San Bolkan (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
  • Area of expertise: Applied Communication
  • Office location: AS 350
  • Email address: san.bolkan@csulb.edu
Dr. Aaron Cargile (Ph.D., University of California – Santa Barbara)
Dr. Sharon D. Downey (Ph.D., University of Colorado – Boulder)
  • Area of expertise: Contemporary Rhetorical Criticism
  • Office location: AS-352
  • Email address: shadowney@aol.com
Dr. Christopher Duerringer (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Critical/Cultural Studies
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-1647
  • Office location: AS-363
  • Email address: christopher.duerringer@csulb.edu
Dr. Ragan Fox (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Performance Studies
  • Office location: AS-364
  • Email address: ragan.fox@csulb.edu
Dr. Amy Heyse (Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park)
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Public Address
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7162
  • Office location: AS-366
  • Email address: amy.heyse@csulb.edu
Dr. Ann Johnson (Ph.D., University of Massachusetts – Amherst)/Department Chair
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric, Popular Culture, and Audiences
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7673
  • Office location: AS-311
  • Email address: ann.johnson@csulb.edu
Dr. Kevin Johnson (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
  • Area of expertise: Cultural Psychoanalysis, First Amendment, Contemporary Rhetorical Theory & Criticism
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7130
  • Office location: AS-354
  • Email address: rhetoricalcritic@gmail.com
Dr. Patricia Kearney (Ed.D., West Virginia University)
  • Area of expertise: Instructional and Interpersonal Communication
  • Office location: AS-369
  • Email address: pkearney7@gmail.com
Dr. James Manseau Sauceda (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
  • Area of expertise: Performance Studies and Intercultural Communication
  • Office phone number: 562-985-8151
  • Office: FO-3, room 3 (lower level)
  • Email: james.sauceda@csulb.edu
Dr. Yuping Mao (Ph.D., Ohio University)
  • Area of expertise: Health Communication and Quantitative Research Methods
Dr. Lynda L. McCroskey (Ph.D., University of Oklahoma)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal, Organizational, and Instructional Communication
  • Office location: AS 373
  • Email address: lynda.mccroskey@csulb.edu
Dr. Valerie McKay (Ph.D., University of Oklahoma)
Dr. Mary McPherson (Ph.D., Ohio University)
  • Area of expertise: Instructional and Interpersonal Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-4312
  • Office location: AS-357
  • Email address: mary.mcpherson@csulb.edu
Dr. Tim Plax, Administrative Director, Hauth Center (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Organizational Communication
  • Office location: AS-369
  • Email address: timplax@aol.com
Dr. Marc Rich (Ph.D., Southern Illinois University – Carbondale)
  • Area of expertise: Performance Studies, Social Change and Violence Prevention
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-8835
  • Office location: AS-362
  • Email address: marc.rich@csulb.edu
Dr. Subrina Robinson (Ph.D., Southern Illinois University – Carbondale)
  • Area of expertise: Performance Studies, Culture and Activism
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-1350
  • Office location: AS-361
  • Email address: subrina.robinson@csulb.edu
Dr. Jose I. Rodriguez (Ph.D., Michigan State University)
  • Area of expertise: Persuasion and Interpersonal Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7954
  • Office location: AS-367
  • Email address: jose.rodriguez@csulb.edu
Dr. Jessica Russell (Ph.D., Michigan State University)
  • Area of expertise:  Strategic Communication in Health and Interpersonal Contexts
  • Office phone number (562) 985-5004
  • Office location: AS-370
  • Email address: jessica.russell@csulb.edu
Dr. Ebony A. Utley (Ph.D., Northwestern University)
Ms. Jamie Wiles (MA, CSULB)/Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Stacy L. Young (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Relational Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-1360
  • Office location: AS-348
  • Email address: sly.young@csulb.edu

Full Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Information
Scott Allen, Technical Director, Hauth Center (M.F.A., Louisiana State University)
  • Area of expertise: Performance
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7142
  • Office location: LAB-200
  • Email address: scott.allen@csulb.edu
Joseph Anderson (ABD, University of Utah)
  • Area of expertise: Critical Cultural Studies of Popular Communication
  • Office location: AS-301
  • Email address: joseph.anderson@csulb.edu
Anthony Castello (MA, CSULB)
Dawn Kelsey (MA, CSULB)
  • Undergraduate Advisor
  • Area of expertise: Advising and Instructional Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-5957
  • Office location: AS-374
  • Email address: dawn.kelsey@csulb.edu
Alan (Ty) Kopp (MFA, Louisiana State University)
  • Area of expertise: Performance Studies
  • Office phone number: 562-985-4300
  • Office location: AS-302
  • Email address: kopprone@hotmail.com
William Neesen (MA, CSU Fullerton)
  • Assistant Director of Debate
  • Office phone number: 562 985-8849
  • Office location: AS-377
  • Email address: bill.neesen@csulb.edu
Dr. Raven Pfister (Ph.D., Purdue)
  • Area of expertise: Critical Theory, Orientalism, and Feminist Postcolonial Theory
  • Office location: AS-375
  • Email address: raven.pfister@csulb.edu
Dr. Clariza Ruiz De Castilla (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Nicholas Russell (ABD, University of Utah)
Reyna Velarde (MA, CSULB)

Part Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Information
Rashad Captan
Paula Castro
Anthony Cuomo
Dr. Christina Derme (Ph.D., State University New York at Buffalo)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Organizational Communication
  • Office Phone Number: (562) 985-7111
  • Office: AS-356
  • Email address: cderme@aol.com
Dave Edwards (Ed.D., CSULB) 
Dr. Pat Ganer (Ph.D. University of Utah)
Jennifer Gradis
Dr. David Hudson (Ph.D., University of Denver)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Small Group Communication
  • Office location: AS-301
  • Email address: david.hudson@csulb.edu
Kelly Janke
Jarvis Johnson
Alexia Kolokotrones
Dr. Pamela Kreiser (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication and Quantitative Methods
  • Office phone number: 562-985-7111
  • Office location: AS-356
  • Email address: pamela.kreiser@csulb.edu
Minodora Moldoveanu
Kaci Sewell
Melanie Whitney
Jamie Wiles
Lucretia Wright

Emeriti Faculty

Professor Name Professor Information
Dr. Nancy Briggs, Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
Dr. Karen Rasmussen, Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Colorado – Boulder)
Dr. Craig R. Smith, Emeritus, Director, Center for 1st Amendment Studies (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University)

Please see a complete listing of contact information including part-time lecturers and teaching associates on the main page under Faculty Office hours