Faculty

Faculty

Please see a complete listing of contact information including part-time lecturers and teaching associates on the main page under Faculty Office Hours Fall 18

Tenure/Tenure-Track Faculty

Professor Name Professor Information
Dr. Jessica Abrams (Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Area of expertise: Intergroup Communication and Media Effects
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-9141
  • Office location: AS-365
  • Email address: jessica.abrams@csulb.edu
Dr. Terre Allen (Ph.D., Louisiana State University)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication, Language and Social Interaction, Small Group Communication, Instructional Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-4301
  • Email address: terre.allen@csulb.edu
Dr. Jennifer Asenas (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin) / Graduate Advisor
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Language
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7679
  • Office location: AS-373
  • Email address: jennifer.asenas@csulb.edu
Dr. Guy F. Bachman (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication
  • Office location: AS-371
  • Email address: guy.bachman@csulb.edu
Dr. San Bolkan (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
  • Area of expertise: Applied Communication
  • Office location: AS-350
  • Email address: san.bolkan@csulb.edu
Dr. Aaron Cargile (Ph.D., University of California – Santa Barbara)
Dr. Sharon D. Downey (Ph.D., University of Colorado – Boulder)
  • Area of expertise: Contemporary Rhetorical Criticism
  • Office location: AS-352
  • Email address: shadowney@aol.com
Dr. Christopher Duerringer (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Critical/Cultural Studies
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-1647
  • Office location: AS-363
  • Email address: christopher.duerringer@csulb.edu

Dr. Michael Eisenstadt (Ph.D. University of Kansas)

  • Director of Forensics
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-4340
  • Office location: AS 380
  • Email address: michael.eisenstadt@csulb.edu
Dr. Ragan Fox (Ph.D., Arizona State University)
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Performance Studies
  • Office location: AS-364
  • Email address: ragan.fox@csulb.edu
Dr. Stephanie Hartzell (Ph.D., University of Colorado – Boulder)

    Area of Expertise: Rhetoric and Culture
    Office location: AS-348
    Email address: stephanie.hartzell@csulb.edu

Dr. Amy Heyse (Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park)
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric and Public Address
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7162
  • Office location: AS-366
  • Email address: amy.heyse@csulb.edu
Dr. Ann Johnson (Ph.D., University of Massachusetts – Amherst) / Department Chair
  • Area of expertise: Rhetoric, Popular Culture, and Audiences
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7673
  • Office location: AS-311
  • Email address: ann.johnson@csulb.edu
Dr. Kevin Johnson, Director, Center for First Amendment Studies (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
  • Area of expertise: Cultural Psychoanalysis, First Amendment, Contemporary Rhetorical Theory & Criticism
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-4313
  • Office location: AS-304
  • Email address: kevin.johnson@csulb.edu
Dr. Adam Kahn (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
  • Area of expertise: Social and Cognitive Psychology of Computer-Mediated Communication
  • Office: AS-354
  • Phone Number: (562) 985-7130
  • Email address: adam.kahn@csulb.edu
Dr. James Manseau Sauceda (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
  • Area of expertise: Performance Studies and Intercultural Communication
  • Office phone number: 562-985-8151
  • Office: FO-3, room 3 (lower level)
  • Email address: james.sauceda@csulb.edu
Dr. Yuping Mao (Ph.D., Ohio University)
  • Area of expertise: Health Communication and Quantitative Research Methods
  • Office location: AS-349
  • Email address: yuping.mao@csulb.edu
Dr. Lynda L. McCroskey (Ph.D., University of Oklahoma)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal, Organizational, and Instructional Communication
  • Office location: AS-373
  • Email address: lynda.mccroskey@csulb.edu
Dr. Valerie McKay (Ph.D., University of Oklahoma)
Dr. Mary McPherson (Ph.D., Ohio University)
  • Area of expertise: Instructional and Interpersonal Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-4312
  • Office location: AS-357
  • Email address: mary.mcpherson@csulb.edu
Dr. Tim Plax, Administrative Director, Hauth Center (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Organizational Communication
  • Office location: AS-369
  • Email address: timplax@aol.com
Dr. Marc Rich (Ph.D., Southern Illinois University – Carbondale)
  • Director of InterAct Performance Troupe
  • Area of expertise: Performance Studies, Social Change and Violence Prevention
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-8835
  • Office location: AS-362
  • Email address: marc.rich@csulb.edu
Dr. Subrina Robinson (Ph.D., Southern Illinois University – Carbondale)
  • Area of expertise: Performance Studies, Culture and Activism
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-1350
  • Office location: AS-361
  • Email address: subrina.robinson@csulb.edu
Dr. Jose I. Rodriguez (Ph.D., Michigan State University)
  • Area of expertise: Persuasion and Interpersonal Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-7954
  • Office location: AS-367
  • Email address: jose.rodriguez@csulb.edu
Dr. Jessica Russell (Ph.D., Michigan State University)
  • Area of expertise:  Strategic Communication in Health and Interpersonal Contexts
  • Office phone number (562) 985-5004
  • Office location: AS-370
  • Email address: jessica.russell@csulb.edu
Dr. Ebony A. Utley (Ph.D., Northwestern University)
Dr. Stacy L. Young (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal and Relational Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-1360
  • Office location: AS-348
  • Email address: sly.young@csulb.edu

 

Full Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Information
Joseph Anderson (ABD, University of Utah)
  • Area of expertise: Critical Cultural Studies of Popular Communication
  • Office location: AS-301
  • Email address: joseph.anderson@csulb.edu
Anthony Castello (MA, CSULB)
Paula Castro (MA CSULB)
Deven Cooper (CSU Fullerton)
Aaron Fullman (MA University Nebraska Omaha)
  • Director of Individual Events
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-8849
  • Office location: AS- 377
  • Email address: aaron.fullman@csulb.edu
Jennifer Gradis (MA CSULB)
Dawn Kelsey (MA, CSULB)
  • Undergraduate Advisor
  • Area of expertise: Advising and Instructional Communication
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-5957
  • Office location: AS-374
  • Email address: dawn.kelsey@csulb.edu
Alan (Ty) Kopp (MFA, Louisiana State University)
  • Area of expertise: Performance Studies
  • Office phone number: 562-985-4300
  • Office location: AS-302
  • Email address: kopprone@hotmail.com
Dr. Pamela Kreiser (Ph.D., University of Texas)
  • Area of expertise: Interpersonal Communication and Quantitative Methods
  • Office phone number: 562-985-7111
  • Office location: AS-356
  • Email address: pamela.kreiser@csulb.edu
Kelly Janke (MA CSULB)
  • Assistant Director, InterAct Performance Troupe
  • Office phone number: (562) 985-4301
  • Office location: AS- 344
  • Email address: kelly.janke@csulb.edu
Jarvis Johnson (MA CSULB)
Dr. Raven Pfister (Ph.D., Purdue)
  • Area of expertise: Critical Theory, Orientalism, and Feminist Postcolonial Theory
  • Office location: AS-375
  • Email address: raven.pfister@csulb.edu
Dr. Clariza Ruiz De Castilla (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Reyna Velarde (MA, CSULB)
Jamie Wiles (MA CSULB)
Melanie Benitez-Whitney (MA CSULB)

Part Time Faculty

Please see Faculty Office Hours for information on our part time faculty.

 

 

Emeriti Faculty

Professor Name Professor Information
Dr. Nancy Briggs, Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Southern California)
Dr. Patricia Kearney (Ed.D., West Virginia University)
  • Area of expertise: Instructional and Interpersonal Communication
  • Email address: pkearney7@gmail.com
Dr. Karen Rasmussen, Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Colorado – Boulder)
Dr. Craig R. Smith, Emeritus Director, Center for First Amendment Studies (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University)