Comp Lit & Classics Scholarships

Department Scholarship Competition

Since Spring 2004, the Department of Comparative World Literature and Classics has had an annual availability of two $500 scholarship awards. One award is available for majors in Comparative World Literature and one for majors in Classics.

The Awards are made to students with financial need who have demonstrated a high level of intellectual and academic potential. Students must be enrolled at California State University, Long Beach, at the time of application.

The deadline for applications is Friday, May 6th, 2016. Download an application: CWL Scholarship.

Past Scholarship Award Recipients

  • Mark Olague (2004), Comparative Literature
  • Megan Ashby (2004), Classics
  • Stephanee Owenby (2005), Comparative Literature
  • Brandon Wason (2005), Classics
  • Blair Ashton (2007), Comparative Literature
  • Laura Powell (2007), Comparative Literature
  • Joe Vansuch (2008), Classics
  • Omar Zahzah (2009), Comparative Literature
  • Michael Veremans (2009), Comparative Literature
  • Micah Lewis (2009), Classics
  • Carla Braswell (2009), Classics
  • Doug Brown (2010), Comparative Literature