Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Comparative World Literature and Classics Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty and Staff

Professor Name and Information Professor Credentials
Kathryn Chew
Professor of Classics
Advisor, Latin Teaching Credential
Undergraduate Advisor, Classics
kathryn.chew@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5810
Office: MHB 606
Ph.D. Classics, UCLA
M.A. Classics, UCLA
B.A. Classics, UC Irvine
Interests: Greek and Latin Novels, Greek Literature, the Hellenistic Period, Late Antiquity, Hagiography, Sanskrit Literature, Latin Teacher Preparation
Nancy Comito
Office Manager
nancy.comito@csulb.edu
(562)985-4239
Office: MHB 515
 
Pravina Cooper, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Comparative Literature
pravina.cooper@csulb.edu
(562) 985-4241
Office: MHB 611
Ph.D. Comparative World Literature, UCLA 2005
M.A. Comparative World Literature, UCLA
M.A. History, Mumbai University
B.A. British and Continental Philosophy
Interests: World Cinemas, Transnational Literatures, Genre, Literary Theory, British and French Modernisms
Elizabeth Dahab, Ph.D.
Professor of Comparative Literature
elizabeth.dahab@csulb.edu
(562) 985-1368
Office: MHB 608
Doctorat, Comparative Literature, Université de Paris-IV, Sorbonne
M.A. Educational Psychology, University of Alberta
Professional Diploma After Degree (for teaching French), University of Alberta (Canada)
B.A. Psychology, McGill University (Canada)
Interests: Post-colonial Literature, Cultural Theory, Middle Eastern Literature, Interdisciplinary Studies, 19th Century French Literature, Exilic Francophone Literatures in Canada/Québec (more)
Douglas Domingo-Forasté
Professor of Classics
douglas.foraste@csulb.edu
(562) 985-7923
Office: MHB 509
Ph.D. Classics, UC Santa Barbara, 1988
M.A. Classics, UC Santa Barbara, 1981
A.B. Latin, UC Davis, 1976
Interests: Ancient numismatics, Claudius Aelianus, Ancient Greek law, Menander, Isaios
Carl Fisher
Professor of Comparative Literature
carl.fisher@csulb.edu
(562) 985-4242
Office: MHB 516
Ph.D. Comparative Literature, UCLA, 1992
M.A. Comparative Literature, UCLA, 1985
B.A. Humanities/Classics and Psychology, Ohio Wesleyan University, 1980
Interests: 18th & 19th Century European Literature, Comedy and Satire, Literature and History, Medicine & Literature, Visual Culture
Thomas Haeussler
Lecturer in Comparative Literature
(562) 985-8660
Office: MHB 605
M.A. Comparative Literature, UCLA
Paul Scotton
Professor of Classics
paul.scotton@csulb.edu
(562) 985-2599
Office: MHB 520

Chair of Department

Ph.D. Classical Archaeology, University of Pennsylvania

M.A. Classical Languages, UCSB
M.A. English Literature, University of Illinois-Urbana
M.F.A. Creative Writing, University of Oregon
B.A. English Literature, University of Illinois-Urbana
Interests: Lechaion Harbor; Ancient Architecture; Aegean Prehistoric Archaeology; Greek Archaeology; Roman Greece and Asia Minor.

Karl Squitier
Lecturer in Classics
karl.squitier@csulb.edu
(562) 985-4248
Office: MHB 508
C. Phil. Classics, UCLA 1972
B.A. Classics and History, Florida State University, 1966
Interests: Foodways & Foodstuffs in the Ancient World; the Ancient World in Theatre & Film; Mythology; Ancient religions; Rome; Cultural Preservation
J. Mark Sugars
Lecturer in Classics
j.marksugars@csulb.edu
(562) 985-4241
Office: MHB 611
Ph.D. Classics, UC Irvine, 1997
B.A. Classics, UC Irvine, 1983
B.S. Biological Sciences, UC Irvine, 1983
Interests: Classical Mythology, Greek Literature
Vlatka Velcic
Professor of Comparative Literature vlatka.velcic@csulb.edu
(562) 985-1815
Office: MHB 609
Ph.D. Comparative Literature, UCLA
M.A. Comparative Literature, UCLA
B.A. Comparative Literature and English, University of Zagreb
Interests: Cultural Studies, Post-colonial Literature, 20th Century Literature, East European Literature
Raymond Waters
Lecturer in Comparative Literature raymond.waters@csulb.edu
(562) 985-7923
Office: MHB 509

Ph.D., Comparative Literature, University of Iowa, 2016

M.A. Communication Studies, University of Iowa, 1994
M.A. English, CSULB, 1991
B.A. English, UCLA, 1985
Interests: Comedy, Japanese Literature, Film/Mass Media Theory

Elaine Wida
Lecturer in Classics
elaine.wida@csulb.edu
(562) 985-8660
Office: MHB 605
Ph.D, Classics, UC Irvine
M.A. Classics, Pennsylvania State University
B.A. Liberal Arts, Concordia Senior College
Interests: Horace, Sophists, Sappho/Alcaeus

Current Adjunct Faculty

Professor Name and Email Room Number and Phone Number
Jessica Brooks
Classics
jessica@classicalworldtours.com
MHB 701, (562) 985-7575
Talar Chahinian
Comparative Literature
Talar.Chahinian@csulb.edu
MHB 513, (562) 985-4232
Cheryl Goldstein
Comparative Literature
cheryl.goldstein@csulb.edu
MHB 701 (562) 985-7575
Katherine McLoone
Comparative Literature
katherine.mcloone@gmail.com
MHB 508
Rachelle Okawa
Comparative Literature
rachelle.okawa@csulb.edu
MHB 609, (562) 985-4253
Chris Shaw
Comparative Literature
christopher.shaw@csulb.edu
MHB 720, (562) 985-4619
Lowry Sweney
Classics
lowry.sweney@csulb.edu
MHB 701, (562) 985-7575

Emeriti Faculty

  • Conrad Barrett
  • Alwin Baum
  • Roland Bush
  • Peter Carr
  • August Coppola
  • Frank Fata
  • Thomas Hubble
  • J. Charles Jernigan
  • Roberta Markman
    Department of Comparative World Literature and Classics

    1250 Bellflower Blvd., MHB 515

    Long Beach, CA 90840

    (562) 985-4239 (phone)

    (562) 985-4863 (fax)