Faculty

English Department Faculty

Note: For current faculty contact information, see our Office Hours page.

FACULTY EMERITI

FACULTY QUICK FIND: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Faculty Education Interests
Amaris, Mary Scarlett (Nancy)
msa.gypsy@gmail.com
BA, Special Emphasis – CSULB; MA, Literacy Studies – CSULB;
MA, Spiritual Psychology – University of Santa Monica Ministerial Credential Fellowship of Isis, UK; Temple of Isis, CA
Literacy Instruction, Speaking Truth to Power, Changing the World One Student at a Time.
Arroyo, Sarah
sarah.arroyo@csulb.edu
BS, Education – New Mexico State University; MA, English – CSULB;
PhD, Rhetoric – University of Texas at Arlington
Digital and Networked Rhetorics; Video and participatory cultures; Critical Theory; Composition Theories and Pedagogies; Writing Program Administration
Atherton, Anthony anthony.atherton@csulb.edu BA, MA – CSULB Nineteenth/Twentieth-Century Literature, Short Story, Comedy, and Music.
Bass, Jenny
jenny.bass@csulb.edu
BA, MA – CSULB  
Belhumeur, Monika
mbelhumeur@verizon.net
BA – University of Heidelberg, Germany; MA – CSULB ESL, Composition, Linguistics
Blankley, Elyse
elyse.blankley@csulb.edu
BA – Douglass College, Rutgers University; MA, PhD – University of California, Davis Twentieth-Century British literature, Twentieth-Century American Literature, Feminist and Gender Theory, Literature by Women, Post-Colonial Theory
Boyer, Mason
mb@profboyer.com
   
Braden, Amy
amy.braden@csulb.edu
BA – Loyola Marymount University; PhD – University of Southern California Early Modern Poetry; Drama; Performance/Stage History; Gender Studies
Buckowski, Melanie
melaniebuckowski@gmail.com
 

BA in Economics UCLA; MFA in Creative Writing Poetry CSULB

 

ELL Pedagogy; Medieval Lit; Food Justice

Buehler, Jamie
jamiebuehler15@gmail.com
   
Carlile, Susan
susan.carlile@csulb.edu
BA Taylor Univ. (IN) MA, PhD Arizona State Univ. Eighteenth-century British Literature; the novel; gender theory; Adolescent Lit, English Education
Chambers, Carrie
carried@hotmail.com
BA in English Literature, Bowling Green State University; MTSC (Master’s in Technical and Scientific Communications), Miami University Technical Communication
Chapman, Cheryl
cheryl.chapman@csulb.edu
MA in Literature, CSULB British modernist and Renaissance lit; film, esp. Japanese and Hays-era American
Cooper, Stephen
stephen.cooper@csulb.edu
BA, UCLA; MFA, UCI; PhD, USC Creative Writing, Fiction; American Literature; Theory of Fiction and Film; Film and Genocide
Covey, Adrienne
adrienne.irene@gmail.com
BA, MA, CSULB  
Cummings, Rebecca
rebecca.cummings@csulb.edu
BA in English, CSULB; MFA in Creative Writing (Fiction), CSULB  
Dilts, Tyler
tyler.dilts@csulb.edu
BA, MA, MFA CSULB Creative Writing, Contemporary Literature and Theory, Narrative Studies, Crime and Detective Fiction
Egan, Gerald
gerald.egan@live.com
MA, CSULB; PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara Long eighteenth-century; Romanticism; visual culture; digital humanities
Esdale, Logan
logan.esdale@csulb.edu
 BA, University of British Columbia; MA, University of Western Ontario; PhD, SUNY Buffalo Modern poetry and poetics, American literature, Modernism, Gertrude Stein, textual scholarship
Esparza, Araceli
araceli.esparza@csulb.edu
PhD University of Southern California MA California State University, Northridge BS University of Southern California ethnic literature, Chicana/o and Latina/o literature, gender and feminist theory
Eyre, Kelly
kelly.eyre@csulb.edu
   
Ferris, Boak
boak.ferris@csulb.edu
BA,MA, Specializing as Writing/Reading Specialist, CSUN; Former GWAR Coordinator; Autodidact in Psycholinguistics/Neuroscience of Learning Neuroscience of Learning; Psycholinguistics; Educational Curriculum Models for K-20; Literature Analysis; The Craft of Fiction Production; The Craft of Nonfiction Production; Publishing; Textual Analysis; Psychometrics of Educational Testing; Teaching and; Pedagogies for EESL; Principles of Undergradate- and Graduate-level Writing Assessment

Flynn, Sharron
sflynn216@verizon.net

BA, MA, Eastern Washington University linguistics; composition; mentoring
Fox, Todd
todd.fox@csulb.edu
BA, MFA, CSULB  
Glatt, Lisa
lisag412@yahoo.com
MFA, Sarah Lawrence College Contemporary fiction, including novels and short story collections
Greenberg, Suzanne
suzanne.greenberg@csulb.edu
BA, Hampshire College; MFA, University of Maryland Creative Writing, Fiction and Creative Nonfiction
Gridley, Suzan
s.gridley@csulb.edu
BA in English, San Francisco State University; MA in English-Composition and Rhetoric, CSULB Composition, Digital Rhetoric, Technical and Professional Writing
Griswold, Gary (William)
william.griswold@csulb.edu
PhD, Claremont Graduate University MA, BA, CSULB History of writing instruction Writing technologies Writing center theory and practice Technical and professional writing
Guffey, Robert
rguffey@hotmail.com
BA, MFA CSULB  
Guzik, Elizabeth
elizabeth.guzik@csulb.edu
   
Hart, George
george.hart@csulb.edu
BA, Kent State University; MA, Stanford University; PhD, Stanford University 19th and 20th-century American literature; American poetry and poetics; literary theory; ecocriticism; ecopoetics; Robinson Jeffers; Larry Eigner
Hashima, Lawrence
larry.hashima@csulb.edu
BA in English & American Studies, UCLA; MA in American Studies, Washington State University; MA/ABD in American Culture, University of Michigan Asian Pacific American Literature; American Studies; U.S. Cinema; 19th- & 20th-century African American Literature; 19th- & 20th-century American Literature
Hernandez, David
davidhernandez4@gmail.com
MFA, University of California, Irvine  
Hoffman, Harold
harold.hoffman@csulb.edu
BA, MFA CSULB  
Hotchkiss, Mimi (Wilhelmina)
wilhelmina.hotchkiss@csulb.edu
BA English and German, CSU Fullerton PhD English, UCLA [British] literature of the long eighteenth century/Romanticism; British poetry & drama; gender studies; literature & visual culture; Shakespeare (pedagogy & performance)
Hu, Helen
hchau.hu@csulb.edu
BA, Berea College; MA, University of Wisonsin; PhD, University of London  
Hultgren, Neil
neil.hultgren@csulb.edu
BA English and French, Augustana College (IL) MA, PhD English Language and Literature, University of Virginia Victorian studies; British imperialism; the novel; postcolonial theory
Hume, Shawne
shawne.hume@csulb.edu
BA, CSULB, 1995, English Education MA, CSULB, 2000, English Literature Virginia Woolf, Charles Dickens, Secondary Education Pedagogy
James, Jessica
jessica.james@csulb.edu
   
Jensen, Deborah
rhetprof@yahoo.com
   
Johnson, Stephanie
stephanie.johnson@csulb.edu
Saint Louis University, CSULB, UC Irvine Graduate Writing Assessment Requirement (GWAR) program; Single Subject Credential Program (SSCP); Supervisor for Student Teachers; Ice Skating Institute (ISI)
Keirn (Divito), Kathleen
Kathleen.keirn@csulb.edu
BA, CSULB MA, CSULB  
Kermode, Lloyd
lloyd.kermode@csulb.edu
BA, Hons University of Sheffield, UK; MPhil, The Shakespeare Institute, University of Birmingham, UK; MA, The Johns Hopkins University; PhD, Rice University Renaissance and Early Modern British Literature; Literary and Cultural Theory
Klink, Eileen
eileen.klink@csulb.edu
BA, UCLA MA, CSULB Ph.D. USC Renaissance Literature, 17th and 18th century British Literature, Rhetoric and Composition, English Education. Current Chair, Department of English
Laurila, Mark
mark.laurila@csulb.edu
   
Lawson, Geri
geri.lawson@csulb.edu
BA, MA, CSULB gender theory; queer modernism/postmodernism; pop culture studies
Locklin, Zachary
zachary.locklin@csulb.edu
BA in Modern Literature, University of California, Santa Cruz; MPW (Master’s of Professional Writing), University of Southern California 19th- and 20th-century British and American literature (particularly British Romantic poetry and Victorian fiction); all other British, American, and commonwealth literature; Freudian and semiotic theory/philosophy; existentialist philosophy and literature; feminist and gender theory; crime and horror fiction; film; pop culture.
López, Dennis
dennis.lopez@csulb.edu
MA, California State University, Northridge; PhD, University of California, Irvine U.S. Ethnic Literatures; Twentieth-Century U.S. Literature; U.S. Protest and Proletarian Literatures; Marxism; Critical Race Theories
Loughrey, Patricia
patricia.loughrey@csulb.edu
MA Theatre Arts, San Diego State University MFA Theatre Arts, CSULB Composition, literature, theatre arts, documentary drama, HIV/AIDS education, LGBTQ history I am also interested in laughter, compassion, and good Thai food.
Loy, Amy
amyloy05@yahoo.com
   
Margrave, Clint
clint.margrave@csulb.edu
   
Matuchniak, Tina
tina.matuchniak@csulb.edu
BA Chemistry, University of Bombay, India MA CSULB, Literacy Studies PhD UCI, Education, Language, Literacy, & Technology Writing English Learners College Access & Persistence
Mello, Barbara (Mary)
barbara.mello@csulb.edu
BA, MA, CSULB; PhD, USC Medieval & English Renaissance; literature and material culture; Feminism & Gender Studies
Mitchell-Smith, Ilan
ilan.mitchellsmith@csulb.edu
BA, Medieval Studies, UC Davis; MA, Medieval Studies, Fordham University; PhD, Medieval English Literature, Texas A&M

Co-Director, Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, CSULB

Old and Middle Enlish Language, Medieval Literature, Chivalric Literature, Monsters, contemporary American versions of the Middle Ages

Mohr, Bill (William)
william.billmohr@gmail.com
BA, University of California, Los Angeles; MA, PhD, University of California, San Diego Twentieth-century American literature; creative writing; avant-garde theater; visual arts
Nyssen, Carla
carla.nyssen@csulb.edu
BA, MA, CSULB  
Olah, Anthony
anthony.olah@csulb.edu
AA, Cypress J.C.; BA, MA, CSULB  

Opsteegh, Michael
michael.opsteegh@csulb.edu

BA, CSULB; MA, CSULB Technical communication, ethics, user experience, visual rhetoric, risk communications, new media
Orliski, Constance (Connie)
constance.orliski@csulb.edu
   
Ortega, Mark
markortega89@gmail.com
BA English with Communication minor CSULB MA English CSULB Rhetoric and Composition, Composition Pedagogies, Creative Writing, Writing Apprehension, Communication Studies
Palomarez, Michael
michael.palomarez@csulb.edu
   
Pastrana, Cynthia
cynthia.pastrana@csulb.edu
BA, MA, CSULB  
Pennington, Margaret (Meg)
megpennington1@gmail.com
   
Politanoff, Ashton
ashtonknp@gmail.com
   
Rifkin, Alan
alan.rifkin@csulb.edu
BA, UCLA / MFA, CSULB Creative Nonfiction, Contemporary Fiction, Personal/Literary Journalism
Rogers, Sandra
smrogers28@gmail.com
BA French, Stanford University MA Education, Stanford University Secondary Education
Rust, Rusty (Marilee)
rusty.rust@csulb.edu
BA CSU Channel Islands; MA CSU Long Beach Feminism, Gender, and Sexuality Studies; Ethnic Literature; Post WWII Lit.; 20th Century American Literature
Scenters-Zapico, John
john.scenters-zapico@csulb.edu

B.A. English, B.A. Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Parkside; M.A. Rhetoric and Composition, Northern Arizona University; PhD Rhetoric, Composition, and the Teaching of English, University of Arizona

Writing Program Administration, Writing Across the Curriculum, Writing Centers, Traditional and Digital Literacies, Rhetoric and Composition History, Theory, and Pedagogy, Ethnographic Approaches to Literacy Study
Schürer, Norbert
nschurer@csulb.edu
BA, Hochschule der Künste Berlin, Germany; MA (Staatsexamen), Freie Universität Berlin, Germany; PhD, Duke University  18th-century British literature, literary theory, book history, women’s writing, the Anglo-Indian encounter, Jane Austen, J.R.R. Tolkien
Seyburn-Little, Patricia (Patty)
patty.seyburn@csulb.edu
BS, MS in Journalism, Northwestern University; MFA in Poetry, University of California, Irvine; PhD in Creative Writing and Literature, University of Houston 20th-century female poets; Eastern European poetry; Midrash
Sheley, Nancy
nancy.sheley@csulb.edu
BA Murray State University/MA University of Illinois/PhD University of Kansas The American short story and its history; 19th-century American women writers; American ethnic writers; 19th-early 20th-century art and culture; conflict resolution (Rwanda/Cyprus/Ireland)
Simoes, Marc
Marc.Simoes@csulb.edu
BA, MA CSULB  
Smith, Jennifer
jennifer.smith@csulb.edu
BA, Pennsylvania State University; MA, CSULB Professional Writing; Technical Editing; Medieval & Early Modern English Literature & Christianity
Smurthwaite, Lori
lori.smurthwaite@csulb.edu
MA in English, Brigham Young University; PhD in American Literature and Rhetoric, University of Southern California Nineteenth and twentieth-century American literature; the short story; children’s literature; composition
Stavast, John
johnstavast@gmail.com
BA, MA, CSULB Twentieth-century American lit; rhetoric; cinema; technical writing
Thomas, Graham
graham.thomas@csulb.edu
   
Thomas, Marshall
marshall.thomas@csulb.edu
BA, MA, EdD CSULB  
Thrasher, Thomas
t.thrasher@csulb.edu
BA,MFA CSULB  

Treviño, Rene H.
rene.trevino@csulb.edu

BA, University of Texas – Pan American; MA, University of Arkansas; PhD, Texas A&M University 19th-Century American Literature; 19th-Century African-American Literature; U.S. Ethnic Literatures; Gothic Literature; Animal Studies.
Van Elk, Martine
martine.vanelk@csulb.edu
MA, University of Amsterdam; PhD, Rice University Early modern literature; Shakespeare; 17th-century women writers
Vipond, Dianne
dianne.vipond@csulb.edu
BS, McGill University; MA, Concordia University; PhD, York University (Canada) Twentieth-Century British Literature; Metafiction; Postmodernism; English Education
Webb, Charles
charles.webb@csulb.edu
BA in Honors English, Rice University; M.A. in English/Poetry Writing, University of Washington; MFA in Professional Writing, University of Southern California; PhD in Counseling Psychology, University of Southern California Creative Writing (fiction and poetry); 20th-century Poetry and Fiction; Poetics
Wegener, Frederick
frederick.wegener@csulb.edu
BA, Columbia University; MA, PhD, Harvard University post-1865 American literature and culture; forms of narrative; critical theory; history of the novel
Williams, Mark
mark.williams@csulb.edu
BS, Utah State University; MA, University of Texas El Paso; PhD, University of Arizona Rhetorical history, theory, and practice; Composition and literacy studies
Willison, Howard
howard.willison@csulb.edu
MA animals; mythology; literature; science; nature
Younglove, William (Bill)
wyoungl@aol.com
BA, English, Adrian College (MI); MA, English, Western Michigan University; MA, American Studies, USC; Ed.D., UCLA  Writing assessment, Holocaust Studies, Curriculum and the study of schooling
Zepeda, Rafael (Ray)
rafael.zepeda@csulb.edu
BA, CSULB; MFA, University of Oregon Creative Writing, fiction (short story and novel); Poetry Writing; Script Writing & Play Writing; Twentieth-Century American and English literature; Nineteenth-Century American and English literature; Twentieth-Century World literature; Film making, Film history, and Film Theory; Photography; Twentieth-Century Art; World Art History; Archeology
Zitzer-Comfort, Carol
carol.comfort@csulb.edu
BA, CSU Fullerton; MA, Cal Poly Pomona; PhD, Claremont Graduate University Composition and Rhetoric (including Digital Literacy); English Education; Reading and Cognitive Development; Contemporary American Ethnic Literature; American Indian Literature; Disability Studies. My interests are diverse, but all stem from my love of reading and teaching.