Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
MFA Department Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

MFA Faculty

Stephen Cooper

Stephen Cooper received his MFA in Creative Writing from the University of California, Irvine, and his Ph.D. from the University of Southern California. In addition to scholarly articles in literary magazines and film journals, he has published short stories in such periodicals as Southwest Review, The Threepenny Review, American Fiction, and Hot Type. Among his honors are an N.E.A. Creative Writing Fellowship in Fiction and CSULB’s Distinguished Faculty Scholarly and Creative Activities Award. He is the editor of Perspectives on John Huston and the author of Full of Life: A Biography of John Fante. He discovered and edited the manuscript of John Fante’s last book, The Big Hunger: Stories 1932-1959, and is also a co-editor of John Fante: A Critical Gathering. His biography of Fante and his edition of The John Fante Reader were named among the Los Angeles Times Best Books of the Year.

Lisa Glatt

Lisa Glatt is the author of the novel A Girl Becomes a Comma Like That and the short story collection The Apple’s Bruise, both published by Simon & Schuster. Her poetry collections include Shelter and Monsters & Other Lovers. Lisa’s work has appeared in such magazines as Zoetrope, Mississippi Review, Columbia, Indiana Review, Pearl, and The Sun. She was recently awarded a fellowship to the Civitella Ranieri Center in Italy and is married to writer David Hernandez.

Suzanne Greenberg

Suzanne Greenbergreceived her MFA from the University of Maryland. Her fiction, poetry and essays have appeared in numerous journals, including the Mississippi Review, West Branch and The Washington Post Magazine. Her collection of short stories, Speed-Walk and Other Stories, was the recipient of the 2003 Drue Heinz Literature Prize. She is the co-author of Everyday Creative Writing: Panning for Gold in the Kitchen Sink and co-author of the children’s novels Abigail Iris: The One and Only and Abigail Iris: The Pet Project.

Bill Mohr

Bill Mohr received his PhD in Literature from the University of California, San Diego. His critical and creative work has appeared in dozens of magazines, including the Antioch Review, Blue Mesa Review, Chicago Review, Santa Monica Review, Sonora Review, William Carlos Williams Review and ZYZZYVA. As editor of Momentum Press from 1974-1988, he received four grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, and published two major anthologies of Southern California poets. His book and audio recording collections include Hidden Proofs, Thoughtful Outlaw, Vehemence, and a chapbook, Bittersweet Kaleidoscope, from If Editions. He has taught at St. John’s University and Rutgers University, and has been a Visiting Scholar at the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles.

Patty Seyburn

Patty Seyburn has published two books of poems: Mechanical Cluster (Ohio State University Press, 2002) and Diasporadic (Helicon Nine Editions, 1998), which won the American Library Association’s Notable Book Award for 2000. Her poems have appeared in numerous journals including The Paris Review, Poetry, New England Review, Field, Slate, Pleiades, Bellingham Review, Crazyhorse, Seneca Review, Passages North and Third Coast, and in the anthology Legitimate Dangers: American Poets of the New Century (Sarabande Books, 2005). She grew up in Detroit. She earned degrees in journalism from Northwestern University, an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of California, Irvine, and a PhD in Creative Writing and Literature from the University of Houston. She is co-editor of POOL: A Journal of Poetry, based in Los Angeles.

Charles Webb

Charles Harper Webb received his MFA in Professional Writing and his Ph.D. in Counseling Psychology from the University of Southern California. His books of poetry include Reading the Water, which won the 1997 Morse Poetry Prize and the 1998 Kate Tufts Discovery Award; Liver, which won the 1999 Felix Pollak Prize; Tulip Farms and Leper Colonies published by BOA Editions in 2001, and Hot Popsicles, published by Univeristy of Wisconsin Press in 2005; Amplified Dog, which won the 2004 Benjamin Saltman Prize, and was published in 2006. A former professional rock musician and a psychotherapist, he is the editor of Stand Up Poetry: An Expanded Anthology, and recipient of a Whiting Writer’s Award and a fellowship from the Guggenheim foundation.

Rafael Zepeda

Rafael Zepeda received his MFA from the University of Oregon. His books include Horse Medicine & Other Stories, Toa Driver and Selected Poems, The Wichita Poems, The Yellow Ford of Texas, and The Durango Poems. His poems and stories have appeared in many anthologies and magazines. He has received a National Endowment of the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship in Fiction, a California Artists’ Fellowship, and a Poets, Essayists and Novelists Syndicated Fiction Award.