Advisors

Advising Information

General Information

Advising in the Department of History is available to all students interested in a major, minor, a teaching credential, or a special major combining History with another discipline. Students are strongly encouraged to see the Undergraduate Advisors Dr. Jane Dabel (Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu) or Dr. Igmen (Ali.Igmen@csulb.edu) at an early stage in the major and throughout the development of their programs. Program Planners (also known as graduation checks) need to be filled out by the advisor in the semester before the semester of planned graduation and before the deadline for filing a Request to Graduate (For deadlines, see Schedule of Classes). Students must bring fully completed worksheets to the Undergraduate Advisor at which point the advisor will fill out a graduation check by reviewing the student’s unofficial transcripts and History Major’s Worksheet (Click here for access to worksheets). Applicants for a teaching credential should see the Credential Advisor, Dr. Eileen Luhr (Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu). Applicants to the graduate program should see the Graduate Advisor Dr. Murdock (C.Murdock@csulb.edu). You may also contact the department at (562) 985-4431 for more information.

Fall 2019 Department Contacts

Advising hours are available on a walk-in basis (preferred), do not email if you will be visiting during those hours.  Additional times may be available by appointment.  

Department Chair:

Dr. Shafer, FO2-102, David.Shafer@csulb.edu Days and hours vary, please email for an appointment.

Undergraduate Advisors:

Dr. Jane Dabel, FO2-202, Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu 

Tuesday  9:30-11:00, 12:30-1:00
Thursdays 9:30-11:00, 12:30-1:00

 Dr. Ali İğmen, FO2-116, Ali.Igmen@csulb.edu

Mondays  2:30-4:30
Wednesdays 2:30-4:30

Graduate Advisor:

Dr. Caitlin Murdock, FO2-203, C.Murdock@csulb.edu

Tuesdays 4:30-6:00
Thursdays  11:00-12:00

Credential Advisor:

Dr. Eileen Luhr, FO2-122, Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu

Mondays 3:00-5:00
Thursdays  3:00-5:00

Student Teacher Placement Coordinator:

Dr. Ponce de Leon, FO2-214, Charles.PoncedeLeon@csulb.edu  Available via email. 

History Honors Coordinator:

Dr. Margaret Kuo, FO2-215, Margaret.Kuo@csulb.edu

 

Please email the Undergraduate Advisors to schedule an appointment outside of walk-in hours.