Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
History Department banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

 Department of History Faculty

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment.

Full-Time Faculty

H. Berberian, Ph.D.
Email: Houri.Berberian@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215
Phone: (562) 985-4524
Office Hours: On leave Spring 2016
Professor Middle East, World (women, minorities)
E. Berquist, Ph.D
Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-115
Phone: (562- 985-4427
Office Hours: On leave Spring 2016
Associate Professor Latin America (colonial, visual culture, religious history, history of science)
J. Blutinger, Ph.D.
Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu
Office
: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours: M: 1:00-2:00, W: 1:00-2:00
Associate Professor Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)
P. Cleary, Ph.D.
Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212
Phone: (562) 985 – 4419
Office Hours: M: 2:00-3:00, 5:45-6:15 pm, W: 2:00-3:00
Professor United States (Revolution, early America)
K. Curtis, Ph.D.
Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 224
Phone: (562) 985 – 5090
Office Hours: T: 4:30-6:00 pm, W: 3:30-4:30, Th: 4:30-6:00 p.m
Professor
Africa, Comparative World
J. Dabel, Ph.D.
Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 202
Phone: (562) 985 – 2408
Office Hours: T: 9:30-10:30, Th: 9:30-10:30
Professor
Editor, The History Teacher
Undergraduate Advisor
United States (African American, women)
D. Hood, Ph.D.
Email: David.Hood@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 108
Phone: (562) 985 – 4420
Office Hours: M: 9:30-10:30, W: 9:30-10:30
Professor
Ancient (historiography of Roman Republic, Plutarch & Greek, military)
A. Igmen, Ph.D.
Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 116
Phone: (562) 985 – 8765
Office Hours: M: 12:00-3:00, W: 12:00-3:00
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Director, Oral History Program
Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural)
A. Jenks, Ph.D.
Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 207
Phone: (562) 985 – 8759
Office Hours: T: 4:00-6:00
Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment)
A. P. Kaminsky, Ph.D.
Email: Arnold.Kaminsky@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –209
Phone: (562) 985 – 5279
Office Hours: M: 12:15-1:00, T: 12-45-1:45, W: 12:15-1:00, Th: 12:45-1:45
Professor South Asia, Southeast Asia, World (India, British Empire)
T. Keirn
Email: Tim.Keirn@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 117
Phone: (562) 985 – 4428
Office Hours: T: 2:30-5:30
Lecturer
Coordinator, Social Science Credential Program
Modern Britain, World (economic, history education)
M. Kelleher, Ph.D.
Email: Marie.Kelleher@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 120
Phone: (562) 985 – 4462
Office Hours: On Leave Spring 2016
Professor Medieval Europe (women & law, Medieval Crown of Aragon, concubines & marginal women)
M. Kuo, Ph.D.
Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-112
Phone:(562) 985-4426
Office Hours: T: 9:30-11:00, Th: 9:30-11:00
Associate Professor Asia (modern China)
J. Lawler
Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –218
Phone: (562) 985 – 4612
Office Hours: T: 11:00-12:00, 1:00-2:00, Th: 11:00-12:00, 1:00-2:00
Lecturer United States
A. Lazarowitz, Ph.D.
Email: Arlene.Lazarowitz@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 107
Phone: (562) 985 – 4423
Office Hours: M: 3:45-4:45, T: 8:45-9:15, 11:00-11:30, W: 3:45-4:45, Th: 8:45-9:15, 11:00-11:30
Professor United States, World, Jewish Studies (foreign policy, 20th c. U.S. political & diplomatic, American Jewish history)
G. Li, Ph.D.
Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu
Office:F02-220
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office Hours: On Leave Spring 2016
Associate Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility)
E. Luhr, Ph.D.
Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 122
Phone: (562) 985 – 4511
Office Hours: W: 1:00-3:30, Th: 1:00-3:30
Associate Professor
Advisor, Social Science Credential Program
United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural)
D. Mizelle, Ph.D.
Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 109
Phone: (562) 985 – 4424
Office Hours: M: 2:00-3:00, W: 5:00-6:00
Professor
Director, American Studies
United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture)
C. Murdock, Ph.D.
Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 203
Phone: (562) 985 – 2601
Office Hours: T: 9:00-10:30, Th: 9:0-10:30
Professor, Graduate Advisor Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational)
C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D.
Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –214
Phone: (562) 985 –4425
Office Hours: T: 11:00-12:00, Th: 11:00-12:00
Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media)
N. Quam-Wickham, Ph.D.
Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 208
Phone: (562) 985 – 4449
Office Hours:  M: 1:00-2:00. Additional times
online or by appointment, see syllabi.
Professor
United States (Western)
S. Sayegh, Ph.D.
Email: Sharlene.Sayegh@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 110
Phone: (562) 985 – 5428
Office Hours: T: 10:00-11:00
Lecturer Europe, World, Critical Theory (early modern & modern Britain, methods & critical thinking)
S. Schrank, Ph.D.
Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 204
Phone: (562) 985 – 2293
Office Hours:  On leave Spring 2016
Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)
D. Shafer, Ph.D.
Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 218
Phone: (562) 985 – 4612
Office Hours:  hours vary, please check with dept. office
Professor
Chair, Department of History
Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)
D. Sheridan, Ph.D.
Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 -4458
Office: FO2 –118
Office Hours: T: 9:45-11:00, 4:45-6:00, Th: 9:45-11:00
Lecturer Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture)
M. Takeuchi, Ph.D.
Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –114
Phone: (562) 985 –4440
Office Hours: T: 8:00-3:30, 3:00-4:00, Th: 8:00-8:30-3:00-4:00
Assistant Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality)
H. Wilford, Ph.D.
Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 216
Phone: (562) 985 – 4422
Office Hours:  T: 1:30-2:30, Th: 1:30-2:30, 5:00-6:00
Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)

Part-Time Faculty

M. Archibald
Email:
Phone: (562) 985-4524
FO2-215
Office Hours:  W: 6:30-7:30 pm
Lecturer
G. Beirich
Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4458
Office: FO2-118
Office Hours: M: 9:30-11;00, 12:30-2:00, W: 9:30-11:00, 12:30-2:00
Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy)
D. Binkiewicz
Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4423
FO2-107
Office Hours: T: 12:30-2:00, Th: 12:30-2:00
Lecturer United States (recent, politics & culture)
D. Bolelli
Email: Daniele.Bolelli@csulb.edu
Office:FO3-306
Office Hours: T: 5:00-6:30 pm
Lecturer
N. Cates
Email: Neal.Cates@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4423
Office:  FO2-107
Office Hours:  T: 6:55-8:00 pm
Lecturer
I. DeSanto
Email: Ingrid.DeSanto@csulb.edu
Phone( 562) 985-5090
Office:  FO2-105A
Office Hours: T: 11:00-12:00, Th: 11:00-12:00
Lecturer
J. Farrell
Email: John.Farrell@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5279
Office: FO2-209
Office Hours: M: 3:30-4:45, 6:30-7:00 pm, W: 3:30-4:45
Lecturer
R. Flamein
Email: Richard.Flamein@csulb.edu
Phone: (562)-985-4612
Office: FO2-218
Office Hours: T: 1:30-3:30, Th: 12:30-1:30
 Lecturer
A. Flores
Email: Alfred.Flores@csulb.edu
Phone: (562)985-4420
Office: FO2-108
Office Hours: Th: 5:30-6:30
 Lecturer
A. Fogleman
Email: Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office: FO2-220
Office Hours: M: 4:00-5:00, W: 4:00-5:00
Lecturer
S. Gonzalez Doo
Email:  Stephanie.Gonzalez@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4422
Office:  FO2-216
Office Hours: W: 2:30-5:30
Lecturer
G. Hamilton
Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4410
Office:  FO2-111
Office Hours:
Lecturer
A. Hawk, Ph.D.
Email: Angela.Hawk@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 – 4429
Office: FO2 – 113
Office Hours: W: 12:00-1:30, Th: 12:00-1:30
Lecturer United States
M. Kadue, Ph.D, J.D.
Email: m.kadue@gmail.com
Office: FO2 – 111
Phone: (562) 985 – 4410
Office Hours: M: 9:00-10:30, W: 1:00-3:30
Lecturer Legal History
R. Morris
Email: Racheli.Morris@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours: M: 1:00-2:00 by appointment only
W. Mullikin
Email: Wanda.Mullikin@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 118
0Phone: (562) 985 -4458
Office Hours: M: 9:30-10:30, T: 2:15-3:15, Th: 2:15-3:15
Lecturer World, United States (immigration)
D. Neumann
Email: Dave.Neumann@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-219
Phone: (562) 985-2122
Lecturer Single Subject Credential program
C. Nichols
Email: Casey.Nichols@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-209
Phone: (562) 985-5279
Office Hours: M: 5:00-6:00, T: 5:0-6:00
B. O’Neil, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu
Office
: FO2 –111
Phone: (562) 985 – 4410
Office Hours: T: 9:30-10:15, Th: 9:30-10:15
Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history)
C. Parker
Email:  Caitlin.Parker@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-114
Phone:  (562)985-4440
Office Hours:  T: 11:00-12:30, Th: 11:00-12:30
G. Rios
Email: Gerardo.Rios@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-105A
Phone: (562) 985-5090
Office Hours: Th: 2:00-3:00
Lecturer
R. Ruvalcaba
Email: Romina.Ruvalcaba@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-120
Phone: (562) 985-4449
Office Hours: M: 1:50-3:00, W: 2:00-3:30
Lecturer
H. Schillig
Email: Hollie.Schillig@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 202
Phone: (562) 985 – 2408
Office Hours: By appointment only. 
Lecturer World
J. Serrano Najera
Email:  Jose.SerranoNajera@csulb.edu
Office: F03-302
Phone:
Office Hours: M: 9:30-10:30, W: 9:30-10:30
S. Smith
Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212
Phone: (562) 985 – 4419
Office Hours: M: 1:00-2:00, 3:30-4:30, T: 1:00-4:00, W: 1:00-2:00, 3:30-4:40, Th: 1:00-4:00
Lecturer United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)
M. Stonis
Email: michelle.stonis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 113
Phone: (562) 985-4429
Office Hours: M: 2:00-3:00, W: 2:00-3:00
Lecturer United States
A. Striegl
Email: Anton.Striegl@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone:
Office Hours: 
 Lecturer
A. Wemmer
Email: Adam.Wemmer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone:
Office Hours: W: 4:00-5:00
 Lecturer

Associated Faculty

    DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY
    Hours:
    Mon-Thur: 8-noon, 1-5
    Friday: 8-noon, 1-4

    Contact Information:
    Phone: 562-985-4431
    Office: FO2-106

    Mailing Address:
    1250 Bellflower Blvd
    Long Beach, CA 90840-1601

    Spring 2016 History Advising Schedule

    Department Chair Dr. David Shafer, FO2-102, david.shafer@csulb.edu
    Days/hour vary, please contact the department office

    Undergraduate
    Dr. Jane Dabel, FO2-202, jane.dabel@csulb.edu
    Tuesdays: 12:30-2:30 pm
    Thursdays: 12:30-2:30 pm
    Fridays by appointment

    Dr. Ali Igmen, FO2-116, ali.igmen@csulb.edu
    Mondays: 12:00-3:00 pm
    Wednesdays: 12:00-3:00 pm

    Graduate
    Dr. Caitlin Murdock, FO2-203, c.murdock@csulb.edu
    Tuesdays: 9:00-10:30 am
    Thursdays: 9:00-10:30 am

    Credential
    Dr. Eileen Luhr, FO2-122, eileen.luhr@csulb.edu
    Wednesdays: 1:00-3:30 pm
    Thursdays: 1:00-3:30 pm

    The above hours are on a walk-in basis. Additional hours may be available by appointment. If you would like to schedule an appointment with an advisor, e-mail the advisor directly. Please give them the courtesy of at least 24 hours to respond to your e-mail request.

    RedPin