Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
History Department banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

 Department of History Faculty

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment.

Full-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests
E. Berquist Soule, Ph.D
Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-115
Phone: (562- 985-4427
Office Hours: M: 4:30-6:00Th: 2:30-4:00
Associate Professor Latin America (colonial, visual culture, religious history, history of science)
J. Blutinger, Ph.D.
Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours: M: 1:30-3:00, T: 1:00-2:00
Associate Professor Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)
P. Cleary, Ph.D.
Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212
Phone: (562) 985 – 4419
Office Hours: M: 2:30-3:00, 4:15-6:15W: 3:30-5:30
Professor United States (Revolution, early America)
K. Curtis, Ph.D.
Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 224
Phone: (562) 985 – 2401
Office Hours: T: 11:00-12:00, 4:00-5:00, W: 5:00-6:00Th: 11:00-12:00, 4:00-5:00 
Professor
Africa, Comparative World
J. Dabel, Ph.D.
Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 202
Phone: (562) 985 – 2408
Office Hours: T: 9:30-10:30 (regular), 12:30-2:00(advising), Th: 9:30-10:30 (regular), 12:00-2:00 (advising) 
Professor
Editor, The History Teacher
Undergraduate Advisor
United States (African American, women)
D. Hood, Ph.D.
Email: David.Hood@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 108
Phone: (562) 985 – 4420
Office Hours: M: 9:30-10:30, 5:30-6:15W: 9:30-10:30
Professor
Ancient (historiography of Roman Republic, Plutarch & Greek, military)
A. Igmen, Ph.D.
Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 116
Phone: (562) 985 – 8765
Office Hours: M: 1:00-2:00, W: 5:00-6:00
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Director, Oral History Program
Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural)
A. Jenks, Ph.D.
Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 207
Phone: (562) 985 – 8759
Office Hours: M: 11:00-2:00, Th: 11:00-2:00
Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment)
A. P. Kaminsky, Ph.D.
Email: Arnold.Kaminsky@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –209
Phone: (562) 985 – 5279
Office Hours: M: 12:15-1:00, Tu: 12:45-1:45 W: 12:15-1:00 Th: 12:45-1:45 
Professor South Asia, Southeast Asia, World (India, British Empire)
T. Keirn
Email: Tim.Keirn@csulb.edu
Office:EED-61
Phone: (562) 985 – 4428
Office Hours: W: 3:00-5:00
Lecturer
Coordinator, Social Science Credential Program
Modern Britain, World (economic, history education)
M. Kelleher, Ph.D.
Email: m.kelleher@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 120
Phone: (562) 985 – 4462
Office Hours:  T: 3:30-4:30, W: 4:30-6:00, Th: 3:30-4:30                           
Professor Medieval Europe (women & gender, medieval Spain, law and legal culture, mediterranean encounters)
M. Kuo, Ph.D.
Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-112
Phone:(562) 985-4426
Office Hours: M: 11:00-12:00, T: 4:00-6:00, W: 11:00-12:00           
Associate Professor Asia (modern China)
J. Lawler
Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –218
Phone: (562) 985 – 4612
Office Hours: T:11:00-12:00, 2:00-3:00, Th:11:00-12:00, 2:00-3:00              
Lecturer United States
G. Li, Ph.D.
Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu
Office:F02-220
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office Hours:  M: 12:30-1:30, T: 3:00-3:30 W:12:30-1:30,Th: 3:00-3:30, 5:00-5:30
Associate Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility)
E. Luhr, Ph.D.
Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 122
Phone: (562) 985 – 4511
Office Hours: 

M: 2:00-4:00 W: 2:00-4:00

Associate Professor
Advisor, Social Science Credential Program
United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural)
D. Mizelle, Ph.D.
Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 109
Phone: (562) 985 – 4424
Office Hours: 

M:  2:30-3:30, Tu: 9:30-10:30, W:  5:00-6:00            

Professor
Director, American Studies
United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture)
C. Murdock, Ph.D.
Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 203
Phone: (562) 985 – 2601
Office Hours: 

ON LEAVE (SPRING 2017)

Professor, Graduate Advisor Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational)
C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D.
Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –214
Phone: (562) 985 –4425
Office Hours:

ON LEAVE (SPRING 2017)            

Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media)
N. Quam-Wickham, Ph.D.
Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 208
Phone: (562) 985 – 4449
Office Hours:  

ON LEAVE (SPRING 2017))     

Professor
United States (Western)
S. Sayegh, Ph.D.
Email: Sharlene.Sayegh@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 110
Phone: (562) 985 – 5428
Office Hours: T: 11:00-12:00

Lecturer Europe, World, Critical Theory (early modern & modern Britain, methods & critical thinking)
S. Schrank, Ph.D.
Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 204
Phone: (562) 985 – 2293
Office Hours:  

T: 12:30-1:30, Th: 12:30-1:30, 5:00-6:00          

Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)
D. Shafer, Ph.D.
Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 218
Phone: (562) 985 – 4612
Office Hours:  hours vary, please check with dept. office
Professor
Chair, Department of History
Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)
D. Sheridan, Ph.D.
Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 -4458
Office: FO2 –118
Office Hours: T: 2:15-3:15, 5:15-6:15Th: 2:15-3:15          
Lecturer Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture)
S. Smith
Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212
Phone: (562) 985 – 4419
Office Hours: 

M: 2:00-3:30,W: 5:00-6:30

 Lecturer  United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)
M. Takeuchi, Ph.D.
Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 –114
Phone: (562) 985 –4440
Office Hours: T: 2:00-3:10, Th:(11:00-11:50 ONLINE), 2:00-3:10
Assistant Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality)
H. Wilford, Ph.D.
Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 216
Phone: (562) 985 – 4422
Office Hours: T: 12:00-1:00,Th:12:00-1:00       
Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)

Part-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests
M. Archibald
Email: Melissa.Archibald@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4524
FO2-215
Office Hours: T: 9:30-10:30,Th: 9:30-10:30
Lecturer  

United States (culture, comic books/graphic novels, urban, women, film/television), History Education (pedagogy, translation of scholarship into schools), World (early modern)

G. Beirich
Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4458
Office: FO2-111
Office Hours: M: 9:00-11:30, 1:00-2:00, W: 9:00-11:30, 1:00-2:00
Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy)
D. Binkiewicz
Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4423
FO2-107
Office Hours: T:1:30-2:00, 3:30-4:30, Th: 1:30-2:00, 3:30-4:30
Lecturer United States (recent, politics & culture)
D. Bolelli
Email: Daniele.Bollelli@csulb.edu
Office:FO3-306
Office Hours:T: 4:30-6:30
Lecturer United States, Ancient Rome, Native American History, History of World Religions
N. Cates
Email: Neal.Cates@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4423
Office:  FO2-201
Office Hours:  W: 7:00-8:00
Lecturer History education in secondary schools, World History, Globalizing US History 
I. DeSanto
Email: Ingrid.DeSanto@csulb.edu
Phone( 562) 985-5090
Office:  FO2-110
Office Hours: M: 9:30-10:30
Lecturer World History, Dutch Empire, and Women’s History
R. Flamein
Email: Richard.Flamein@csulb.edu
Phone: (562)-985-4612
Office: FO2-218
Office Hours: M: 4:00-6:15
 Lecturer  
A. Fogleman
Email: Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office: FO2-214
Office Hours: M: 11:30-12:00 (301-01), 12:00-12:30 (301-04), W: 11:30-12:00 (301-01), 12:00-12:30 (301-04)
Lecturer  
S. Gonzalez Doo
Email: Stephanie.Gonzalez@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-4422
Office:  FO2-216
Office Hours: M: 2:00-3:00, 5:00-7:00
Lecturer  

United States and World (20th c., Cold War, U.S.-Latin America, Migration, Revolutions, Decolonization)

A. Hawk, Ph.D.
Email: Angela.Hawk@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 – 4429
Office: FO2 – 113
Office Hours: M: 10:00-11:30, W: 10:00-11:30
Lecturer U.S. and World History; California History; History of Medicine and Mental Health
B. Jackson
Email: Brande.Jackson@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985 – 5279
Office: FO2 – 201
Office Hours: Th: 3:45-4:45
 Lecturer  

American Social Movements; Los Angeles & California cultures and history; pop culture & media

M. Kadue, Ph.D, J.D.
Email: m.kadue@gmail.com
Office: FO2 – 111
Phone: (562) 985 – 4410
Office Hours: M: 9:00-11:00, 1:00-3:00  
Lecturer Legal History
R. Morris
Email: Racheli.Morris@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours: 

M: 1:00-2:00- BY APPT. ONLY W: 1:00-2:00- BY APPT. ONLY 

   

W. Mullikin
Email: Wanda.Mullikin@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 118
0Phone: (562) 985 -4458
Office Hours: M: 4:15-5:15, W: 4:15-5:15

Lecturer World, United States (immigration)
B. O’Neil, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu
Office
: FO2 –111
Phone: (562) 985 – 4410
Office Hours: T: 10:00-11:00 Th: 10:00-11:00
Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history)
C. Parker
Email:  Caitlin.Parker@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-208
Phone:  (562)985-4440
Office Hours: Tu: 9:00-10:30,Th: 5:30-6:30   
   US History (Post-1945, Political, Urban, and Race/Ethnicity)

M. Reid
Email: Megan.Reid@csulb.edu
Office:  FO2-215
Phone:  562-985-4524
Office Hours: M: 11:00-12:00

   

Middle Eastern and Islamic history (medieval and modern; Islamic law, cultural history; women)

G. Rios
Email: Gerardo.Rios@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-105A
Phone: (562) 985-5090
Office Hours: T: 3:45-4:45, Th:3:45-4:45
Lecturer  
R. Ruvalcaba
Email: Romina.Ruvalcaba@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-107
Phone: (562) 985-4449
Office Hours: M: 4:30-5:30Th:3:00-4:45      
Lecturer  
H. Schillig
Email: Hollie.Schillig@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 202
Phone: (562) 985 – 2408
Office Hours: Tu:11:00-1:00, Th: 11:00-1:00
Lecturer World
J. Serrano Najera
Email:  Jose.SerranoNajera@csulb.edu
Office: F02-219
Phone:
Office Hours: W: 1:00-3:00
   
M. Stonis
Email: michelle.stonis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 113
Phone: (562) 985-4429
Office Hours:

M:  1:30-3:30

Lecturer United States
A. Striegl
Email: Anton.Striegl@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone:
Office Hours: Th: 3:00-4:00
 Lecturer  
A. Wemmer
Email: Adam.Wemmer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone:
Office Hours:
 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education

 

Associated Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests