People – Current Faculty

Please check back later in the summer for Fall 2018 office hours.

There are no office hours available Summer 2018 unless specified by individual professors. The best way to contact professors is via email or contact the Department Chair, Dr. Shafer, via email.

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment.

Last updated: 05/31/2018

Full-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests

E. Berquist Soule, Ph.D
Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-226
Phone: (562) 985-4427
Office Hours: Tu: 7:45-9:15 / Th: 3:15-4:45

Associate Professor Colonial Latin America and the Spanish Empire; Slavery and the Slave Trade; Atlantic History; Imperial Governance; Indigenous Peoples; The History of Religion

J. Blutinger, Ph.D.
Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours: Tu: 3:30-4:30 / Th: 3:30-4:30

Associate Professor Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)
P. Cleary, Ph.D.
Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212
Phone: (562) 985 – 4419
Office Hours: N/A
Professor United States (Revolution, early America)

K. Curtis, Ph.D.
Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-224
Phone: (562) 985-2401
Office Hours: M: 10:30-11:30 / Tu: 3:30-4:30 / W: 10:30-11:30

Professor

Africa, Comparative World

J. Dabel, Ph.D.
Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202
Phone: (562) 985-2408
Office Hours: Tu: 9:15-10:15 & 12:30-1:30 / Th: 9:15-10:15 & 12:30-1:30

Professor
Editor, The History Teacher
Undergraduate Advisor
United States (African American, women)

J. Gomer, Ph.D.
Email: Justin.Gomer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-105A
Phone: (562) 985-5090
Office Hours: M: 3:30-5:00

Assistant Professor

United States, American Studies (African American Studies, race and cultural theory)

A. Hawk, Ph.D.
Email: Angela.Hawk@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118
Phone: (562) 985-4429
Office Hours: M: 2-3 / Tu: 11-12 / W: 2-3 / Th: 11-12

Lecturer U.S. and World History, California History, History of Medicine and Mental Health
A. Igmen, Ph.D.
Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-116
Phone: (562) 985-8765
Office Hours: M: 1-3 / W: 1-3
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Director, Oral History Program

Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural)

A. Jenks, Ph.D.
Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-207
Phone: (562) 985-8759
Office Hours: W: 3-6
Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment)
A. P. Kaminsky, Ph.D.
Email: Arnold.Kaminsky@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-209
Phone: (562) 985-5279
Office Hours: 
Professor South Asia, Southeast Asia, World (India, British Empire)
T. Keirn
Email: Tim.Keirn@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117/EED-61
Phone: (562) 985-5560
Office Hours: N/A
Lecturer
Coordinator, Social Science Credential Program
Modern Britain, World (economic, history education)
M. Kelleher, Ph.D.
Email: m.kelleher@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-120
Phone: (562) 985-4462
Office Hours: M: 11:30-1:00, 3:30-4:30 / W: 11:30-1:00, 3:30-4:30
Professor Medieval Europe (women & gender, medieval Spain, law and legal culture, Mediterranean encounters)
M. Kuo, Ph.D.
Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215
Phone:(562) 985-4426
Office Hours: M: 9-11 / Tu: 1-3
Associate Professor Asia (modern China)
J. Lawler
Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-218
Phone: (562) 985-4420
Office Hours: 
Lecturer United States
G. Li, Ph.D.
Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu
Office:FO2-220
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office Hours: 
Associate Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility)
E. Luhr, Ph.D.
Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone: (562) 985-4511
Office Hours: M: 2:30-6:00 / T: 1:00-3:30 
Professor
Advisor, Social Science Credential Program
United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural)
B. Mizelle, Ph.D.
Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-109
Phone: (562) 985-4424
Office Hours: M: 2-3 / W: 5-6
Professor
Director, American Studies
United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture)
C. Murdock, Ph.D.
Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-203
Phone: (562) 985-2601
Office Hours: Tu: 9:30-10:30 / Th: 12:30-1:30
Professor
Graduate Advisor
Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational)
C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D.
Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214
Phone: (562) 985-4425
Office Hours: W: 12:30-1:30
Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media)

N. Quam-Wickham, Ph.D.
Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-208
Phone: (562) 985-4449
Office Hours: M: 5:30-6:25 / Tu: 5:30-6:25 / W: 5:30-6:25

Professor 

United States (Western)

S. Sayegh, Ph.D.
Email: Sharlene.Sayegh@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-110
Phone: (562) 985-5428
Office Hours: N/A

Lecturer Europe, World, Critical Theory (early modern & modern Britain, methods & critical thinking)
S. Schrank, Ph.D.
Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-204
Phone: (562) 985-2293
Office Hours: Tu: 2-3:30 / Th: 2-3:30
Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)

D. Shafer, Ph.D.
Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-102
Phone: (562) 985-4431
Office Hours: Days & hours vary, please check with the dept. office or email directly for appointment

Professor
Chair, Department of History
Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)
D. Sheridan, Ph.D.
Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118
Phone: (562) 985-4458
Office Hours: Tu: 9:30-10:20, 4:30-6:20 / Th: 9:30-10:20
Lecturer Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture)
S. Smith
Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-212
Phone: (562) 985-4419
Office Hours: Tu: 1-1:45 / Th: 9:30-10:20
 Lecturer  United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)
M. Takeuchi, Ph.D.
Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-114
Phone: (562) 985-4440
Office Hours: N/A
Associate Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality)
H. Wilford, Ph.D.
Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216
Phone: (562) 985-4422
Office Hours: N/A
Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)

Part-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests
M. Archibald
Email: Melissa.Archibald@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-112
Phone: (562) 985-4524
Office Hours: Tu: 12:30-3:30 / Th: 12:30-3:30
Lecturer United States (culture, comic books/graphic novels, urban, women, film/television), History Education (pedagogy, translation of scholarship into schools), World (early modern)
G. Beirich
Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-111
Phone: (562) 985-4431 (dept. office)
Office Hours: M: 10:45-12:15 / Th: 12:30-3:30
Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy)
D. Binkiewicz
Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-107
Phone: (562) 985-4423
Office Hours: M: 11-12:30 / W: 11-12:30
Lecturer United States (recent, politics & culture)

D. Bolelli
Email: bodhi1974@yahoo.com
Office: FO3-306
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: Tu: 5-6:30

Lecturer United States, Ancient Rome, Native American History, History of World Religions
N. Cates
Email: Neal.Cates@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201
Phone: (562) 985-4423
Office Hours: W: 6:55-8:00
Lecturer History education in secondary schools, World History, Globalizing US History 
I. DeSanto
Email:

Ingrid.MarekDeSanto@csulb.edu

Office: FO2-110
Phone: (562) 985-5248
Office Hours: Tu: 3:45-4:45 / W: 2:15-3:15 / Th: 9:30-10:30

Lecturer World History, Dutch Empire, and Women’s History
R. Flamein, Ph.D.
Email: Richard.Flamein@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-218
Phone: (562) 985-4612
Office Hours: M: 9:30-10:45 / Tu: 2-3:30 / W: 9:30-10:45 / Th: 2-3:30
 Lecturer  
A. Fogleman
Email: Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214
Phone: (562) 985-4425
Office Hours: M: 7:30-8, 1:30-2 / W: 1:30-2
Lecturer  Medieval Europe (Medicine, Religious Visionaries, Universities)
S. Gonzalez Doo
Email: Stephanie.Gonzalez@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216
Phone: (562) 985-4422
Office Hours: Tu: 10:15-10:45, 4-6:30 / Th: 10:15-10:45, 4-6:30
Lecturer  

United States and World (20th c., Cold War, U.S.-Latin America, Migration, Revolutions, Decolonization)

G. Hamilton
Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: W: 7-8

 Lecturer  
L. Hashima
Email: Larry.Hashima@csulb.edu
Office: FO3-317
Phone: (562) 985-4822
Office Hours: Tu: 12:30-1:30 / Th: 12:30-1:30
Lecturer  
H. Hernandez
Email: Holly.Hernandez@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-209
Phone: (562) 985-5279
Office Hours: W: 1:50-2:50 / F: 12-1
Lecturer  
B. Jackson
Email: Brande.Jackson@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: M: 3:30-5 / Tu: 5:30-6:30 / W: 3:30-5
 Lecturer  

American Social Movements, Los Angeles & California cultures and history, pop culture & media

Y. Kiazolu
Email: Yatta.Kiazolu@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: N/A
Lecturer  
M. Larsen
Email: Mik.Larsen@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-108
Phone: (562) 985-4612
Office Hours: M: 4-5 / W: 4-5
 Lecturer  
I. DeSanto
Email:

Ingrid.MarekDeSanto@csulb.edu

Office: FO2-110
Phone: (562) 985-5248
Office Hours: Tu: 3:45-4:45 / W: 2:15-3:15 / Th: 2-3:30

 Lecturer  World History, Dutch Empire, and Women’s History
L. Mehlbrech
Email: Linda.Mehlbrech@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117
Phone: (562) 985-4428
Office Hours: N/A 
 Lecturer  
M. Momdjian
Email: Maran.Momdjian@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215
Phone: (562) 985-4524
Office Hours:N/A
Lecturer  
R. Morris
Email: Racheli.Morris@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours: M: 1-2 / W: 1-2
 Lecturer  
B. O’Neil, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-111
Phone: (562) 985-4410
Office Hours: M: 11:30-12:15 / W: 11:30-12:15
Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history)
C. Parker
Email: Caitlin.Parker@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216
Phone: (562) 985-4422
Office Hours: M: 4-6 / Th: 1-2
 Lecturer  US History (Post-1945, Political, Urban, and Race/Ethnicity)

A. Rosas
Email: Abigail.Rosas@csulb.edu
Office: MHB-209A
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: M: 1:30-3:30 / Tu: 11:00-1:00

   
R. Ruvalcaba, Ph.D.
Email: Romina.Ruvalcaba@csulb.edu
Office: N/A
Phone: N/A
Office Hours: N/A    
Lecturer  
H. Schillig
Email: Hollie.Schillig@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202
Phone: (562) 985-2408
Office Hours: N/A
Lecturer World
J. Serrano Najera
Email:  JoseLuis.SerranoNajera@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215
Phone: (562) 985-4524
Office Hours: M: 3:15-4:15 / W: 3:15-4:15
 Lecturer  
M. Stonis
Email: michelle.stonis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-113
Phone: (562) 985-4419
Office Hours: Tu: 10:45-12:45
Lecturer United States (Social, Cultural, Women, Civil Disobedience, Civic Engagement, Religion, Americans & Colonization in Nineteenth-Century Hawai’i, Sarah Winchester & the Winchester Mystery House), History Education

A. Striegl
Email: Anton.Striegl@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: Th: 3-4

 Lecturer  United States

A. Wemmer
Email: Adam.Wemmer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117
Phone: (562) 985-4428
Office Hours: Tu: 4-5

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education

A. Withers
Email: Amber.Withers@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-220
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office Hours:N/A

Lecturer