People – Current Faculty

The best way to contact instructors is via email.  Voice messages are not recommended.

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment. Last updated: 10/9/2019

Full-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests
E. Berquist Soule, Ph.D Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu Office: FO2-226 Phone: (562) 985-4427 Office Hours: On leave F19, S20 Professor Colonial Latin America and the Spanish Empire; Slavery and the Slave Trade; Atlantic History; Imperial Governance; Indigenous Peoples; The History of Religion

J. Blutinger, Ph.D. Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu Office: FO2-210 Phone: (562) 985-2196

Office Hours: MW: 9:30-11:00

Professor Chair, Jewish Studies Program Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)

P. Cleary, Ph.D. Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu Office: FO2 – 212 Phone: (562) 985 – 4419

Office Hours: M 12:30-1:00; W 3:30-4:00, 5:00-6:00

Professor United States (Revolution, early America)
K. Curtis, Ph.D. Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu Office: FO2-224 Phone: (562) 985-2401 Office Hours: Sabbatical F19 Professor Africa, Comparative World

J. Dabel, Ph.D. Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu Office: FO2-202 Phone: (562) 985-2408

Office Hours: Tu/Thur: 9:30-11:00, 12:30-1:30

Professor Editor, The History Teacher Undergraduate Advisor United States (African American, women)

J. Gomer, Ph.D. Email: Justin.Gomer@csulb.edu Office: FO2-105A Phone: (562) 985-5090

Office Hours: W: 1:30-3:15

Assistant Professor United States, American Studies (African American Studies, race and cultural theory)

A. Hawk, Ph.D. Email: Angela.Hawk@csulb.edu Office: FO2-118 Phone: (562) 985-4429

Office Hours: MW: 11:00-12:00, 3:30-4:30

Lecturer U.S. and World History, California History, History of Medicine and Mental Health

A. Igmen, Ph.D. Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu Office: FO2-116 Phone: (562) 985-8765

Office Hours: Tu/Thur: 2:30-4:30

Professor Undergraduate Advisor Director, Oral History Program Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural)

A. Jenks, Ph.D. Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu Office: FO2-207 Phone: (562) 985-8759

Office Hours: Tu/Thur: 9:00-11:00

Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment)

M. Kelleher, Ph.D. Email: m.kelleher@csulb.edu Office: FO2-120 Phone: (562) 985-4462

Office Hours: Tu/Thur: 11:15-12:15, 2:00-3:00; W: 5:00-6:00

Professor Medieval Europe (women & gender, medieval Spain, law and legal culture, Mediterranean encounters)

M. Kuo, Ph.D. Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu Office: FO2-215 Phone:(562) 985-4426

Office Hours: Tu: 11:00-12:00; Thur: 11:00-12:00, 2:00-3:00

Professor Asia (modern China)

J. Lawler Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu Office: FO2-218 Phone: (562) 985-4420

Office Hours: Tu: 12:30-2:30; Thur: 12:30-2:30, 3:00-5:00

Lecturer United States

G. Li, Ph.D. Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu Office: FO2-220 Phone: (562) 985-4465

Office Hours: MW: 10:30-11:00; Tu/Thur: 11:00-11:30

Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility)

E. Luhr, Ph.D. Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu Office: FO2-122 Phone: (562) 985-4511

Office Hours: MW: 3:00-5:00

Professor Advisor, Social Science Credential Program United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural)

B. Mizelle, Ph.D. Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu Office: FO2-109 Phone: (562) 985-4424

Office Hours: M: 2:00-3:00; W: 5:00-6:00

Professor Director, American Studies United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture)

C. Murdock, Ph.D. Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu Office: FO2-203 Phone: (562) 985-2601

Office Hours: Tu: 4:30-6:00; Thur: 11:00-12:00

Professor Graduate Advisor Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational)

U. Piña, Ph.D. Email:  Ulices.Pina@csulb.edu Office:  FO2-112 Phone: (562) 985-4426

Office Hours: MW: 11:30-1:30

Assistant Professor Modern Latin America, Mexico

C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D. Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu Office: FO2-214 Phone: (562) 985-4425

Office Hours: None F19

Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media)

N. Quam-Wickham, Ph.D. Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu Office: FO2-208 Phone: (562) 985-4449

Office Hours: M: 4:10-5:00, 6:15-7:00pm W: 3:30-5:00

Professor United States (Western)
A. Rosas Email: Abigail.Rosas@csulb.edu Office: MHB-209A Phone: n/a Office Hours: Assistant Professor, CHLS  
S. Sayegh, Ph.D. Email: Sharlene.Sayegh@csulb.edu Office: FO2-110 Phone: (562) 985-5428 Office Hours: None F19 Lecturer Europe, World, Critical Theory (early modern & modern Britain, methods & critical thinking)

S. Schrank, Ph.D. Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu Office: FO2-204 Phone: (562) 985-2293

Office Hours: Tu/Thurs: 2:00-3:15

Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)
D. Shafer, Ph.D. Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu Office: FO2-102 Phone: (562) 985-4431 Office Hours: Days & hours vary, please email directly for appointment Professor Chair, Department of History Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)

P. Sharma Ph.D. Email: Preeti.Sharma@csulb.edu Office: FO2-110 Phone: (562) 985-5428

Office Hours: Tu:3:30-5:00

Assistant Professor  

D. Sheridan, Ph.D. Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu Office: FO2-118 Phone: (562) 985-4458

Office Hours: Tu: 11:15-12:00, 4:20-6:20; Thurs: 11:15-12:00

Lecturer Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture)

S. Smith Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu Office: FO2-212 Phone: (562) 985-4419

Office Hours: MW: 2:00-3:30; Tu: 2:00-4:00; Thurs: 12:30-2:00

 Lecturer  United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)

M. Takeuchi, Ph.D. Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu Office: FO2-114 Phone: (562) 985-4440

Office Hours: Tu/Thurs: 8:30-9:00, 11:00-12:00

Associate Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality)

H. Wilford, Ph.D. Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu Office: FO2-216 Phone: (562) 985-4422

Office Hours: Tu/Thur: 9:30-10:30, 3:30-4:30

Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)

Part-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests

G. Beirich Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu Office: FO2-111 Phone: (562) 985-4431 (dept. office)

Office Hours: MW: 9:30-11:00

Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy)

M Berkley Email: Matt.Berkley@csulb.edu Office: FO2-201 Phone: N/a

Office Hours: Tu: 8:30-9:00

Lecturer  

D. Binkiewicz Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu Office: FO2-107 Phone: (562) 985-4423

Office Hours: MW: 1:00-12:30, 3:30-4:00

Lecturer United States (recent, politics & culture)

D. Bolelli Email: bodhi1974@yahoo.com Office: FO3-306 Phone: n/a

Office Hours: Thurs: 10:00-12:00 (via Zoom)

Lecturer United States, Ancient Rome, Native American History, History of World Religions

N. Cates Email: Neal.Cates@csulb.edu Office: FO2-201 Phone: (562) 985-4423

Office Hours: 7:55-9:00pm

Lecturer History education in secondary schools, World History, Globalizing US History

J. Contreras Email: Jazmine.Contreras@csulb.edu Office: FO2-226 Phone: N/a 

Office Hours: MW: 2:00-4:00

Lecturer  

K. Flach Email: Kate.Flach@csulb.edu Office: FO2-224 Phone: (562) 985-2401

Office Hours: T/Thurs: 1:00-2:30

Lecturer  

R. Flamein, Ph.D. Email: Richard.Flamein@csulb.edu Office: FO2-218 Phone: (562) 985-4612

Office Hours: Tu: 2:00-3:30; W: 5:00-6:30

 Lecturer  

A. Fogleman Email: Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu Office: FO2-214 Phone: (562) 985-4425

Office Hours: M: 7:45-8:00, 10:45-11:00, 3:00-3:30; W: 10:45-11:00

Lecturer  Medieval Europe (Medicine, Religious Visionaries, Universities)

S. Gonzalez-Doo Email: Stephanie.GonzalezDoo@csulb.edu Office: FO2-216 Phone: (562) 985-4422

Office Hours: Tu/Thurs: 9:30-10:30, 12:30-1:30, 3:30-4:30

Lecturer United States and World (20th c., Cold War, U.S.-Latin America, Migration, Revolutions, Decolonization)

G. Hamilton Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu Office: FO2-117 Phone: n/a

Office Hours: Tu: 2:45-3:45; W: 4:00-5:00; Thurs: 2:00-4:00

Lecturer  

H. Hernandez Email: Holly.Hernandez@csulb.edu Office: FO2-209 Phone: (562) 985-5279

Office Hours: Tu/Thurs: 3:00-4:30

Lecturer  

M. Larsen Email: Mik.Larsen@csulb.edu Office: FO2-108 Phone: (562) 985-4612

Office Hours: Tu: 1:00-3:00; W: 5:00pm-7:00pm

 Lecturer  Ancient History (Roman World & Ancient Greece)

I. Marek-DeSanto Email:  Ingrid.MarekDeSanto@csulb.eduOffice: FO2-110 Phone: (562) 985-5248

Office Hours: M: 11:00-12:00, 5:15pm-6:15pm; W: 11:00-12:00

 Lecturer  World History, Dutch Empire, and Women’s History
L. Mehlbrech Email: Linda.Mehlbrech@csulb.edu Office: FO2- Phone: (562) 985-4428 Office Hours:  Lecturer  

R. Morris Email: Racheli.Morris@csulb.edu Office: FO2-210 Phone: (562) 985-2196

Office Hours: MW 3:15-4:15

 Lecturer  

B. O’Neil, Ph.D. Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu Office: FO2-111 Phone: (562) 985-4410

Office Hours: MW: 11:30-12:30

Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history)

C. Parker Email: Caitlin.Parker@csulb.edu Office: FO2-216 Phone: (562) 985-4422

Office Hours: Tu: 9:30-10:30; Thurs: 3:30-5:30

 Lecturer  US History (Post-1945, Political, Urban, and Race/Ethnicity)

M.Reid Email: Megan.Reid@csulb.edu Phone: 562-985- Office: FO2-226

Office Hours: Tu: 3:00-5:00

Lecturer Middle Eastern Women

N. Rosenberger Email: Nathan.Rosenberger@csulb.edu Phone: (562) 985-4410 Office: FO2-111 

Office Hours: M 5:15-6:15 Th: 10:00-12:00, 5:00-6:00

Lecturer  

J. Serrano Najera Email:  JoseLuis.SerranoNajera@csulb.edu Office: FO2-215 Phone: (562) 985-4449

Office Hours: MW: 1:45-2:45

 Lecturer  

R Schraff Email: rob.schraff@csulb.edu Phone: (562) 985-4420 Office: FO2-108

Office Hours: MW: 1:00-3:00

Lecturer  

M. Stonis Email: michelle.stonis@csulb.edu Office: FO2-113 Phone: (562) 985-4419

Office Hours: 

Lecturer United States (Social, Cultural, Women, Civil Disobedience, Civic Engagement, Religion, Americans & Colonization in Nineteenth-Century Hawai’i, Sarah Winchester & the Winchester Mystery House), History Education
A. Striegl Email: Anton.Striegl@csulb.edu Office: FO2-122 Phone: n/a Office Hours: N/A  Lecturer  United States

A. Wemmer Email: Adam.Wemmer@csulb.edu Office: FO2-117 Phone: (562) 985-4428

Office Hours: Tu: 4:00-4:50

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education