Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
History Department banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

 Department of History Faculty

Additional hours are available by appointment.  Please email the faculty directly to schedule an appointment.

Last updated: 02/20/2018

Full-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests

E. Berquist Soule, Ph.D
Email: Emily.Berquist@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-115
Phone: (562) 985-4427
Office Hours: Tu/Th 8:00-9:30A & by appointment

Associate Professor Latin America (colonial, visual culture, religious history, history of science)

J. Blutinger, Ph.D.
Email: Jeffrey.Blutinger@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours: M/2:00-3:00P & by appointment

Associate Professor Modern Europe, World, Jewish Studies (modern Jewish history, Holocaust, memory, historiography)
P. Cleary, Ph.D.
Email: Patricia.Cleary@csulb.edu
Office: FO2 – 212
Phone: (562) 985 – 4419
Office Hours: Mo 1:00-1:30P, 3:30-4:00P, 5:00-6:00P & by appointment
Professor United States (Revolution, early America)
K. Curtis, Ph.D.
Email: Kenneth.Curtis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-224
Phone: (562) 985-2401
Office Hours: M 9:30-10:30A; Tu 3:30-4:30P; W 9:30-10:30A & by appointment

Professor

Africa, Comparative World

J. Dabel, Ph.D.
Email: Jane.Dabel@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202
Phone: (562) 985-2408
Office Hours: Tu/Th 9:30-10:45A (class), 11:00-12:30P (advising) & by appointment

Professor
Editor, The History Teacher
Undergraduate Advisor
United States (African American, women)

J. Gomer, Ph.D.
Email: Justin.Gomer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-105A
Phone: (562) 985-5090
Office Hours: 2:00-3:00P & by appointment

Assistant Professor

United States, American Studies (African American Studies, race and cultural theory)

A. Hawk, Ph.D.
Email: Angela.Hawk@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-113
Phone: (562) 985-4429
Office Hours: 2:00-4:00P; 11:00-12:00P, 2:00-3:00P & by appointment

Lecturer U.S. and World History, California History, History of Medicine and Mental Health
A. Igmen, Ph.D.
Email: ali.igmen@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-116
Phone: (562) 985-8765
Office Hours: M/1:30-3:00P & by appointment
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Director, Oral History Program

Central Asia, Russia, Middle East, World (theater, cultural)

A. Jenks, Ph.D.
Email: andrew.jenks@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-207
Phone: (562) 985-8759
Office Hours: M/1:00-3:00P & by appointment
Professor Modern Europe, Russia (politics, technology, environment)
A. P. Kaminsky, Ph.D.
Email: Arnold.Kaminsky@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-209
Phone: (562) 985-5279
Office Hours: Tu/Th 12:45-1:45P & by appointment
Professor South Asia, Southeast Asia, World (India, British Empire)
T. Keirn
Email: Tim.Keirn@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117/EED-61
Phone: (562) 985-5560
Office Hours: None Spring 2018
Lecturer
Coordinator, Social Science Credential Program
Modern Britain, World (economic, history education)
M. Kelleher, Ph.D.
Email: m.kelleher@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-120
Phone: (562) 985-4462
Office Hours: M/11:00-12:00P, 2:00-3:00P; Th 5:00-6:00P & by appointment
Professor Medieval Europe (women & gender, medieval Spain, law and legal culture, Mediterranean encounters)
M. Kuo, Ph.D.
Email: margaret.kuo@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-112
Phone:(562) 985-4426
Office Hours: M/11:00-12:00P; Th 12:00-2:00P & by appointment 
Associate Professor Asia (modern China)
J. Lawler
Email: Jeffrey.Lawler@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-218
Phone: (562) 985-4420
Office Hours: Tu 8:00-9:00A, 11:00-12:00P; Th 11:00-12:00P, 3:15-4:15P & by appointment
Lecturer United States
G. Li, Ph.D.
Email: GT.Li@csulb.edu
Office:FO2-220
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office Hours: By appointment
Associate Professor Asia (Late Imperial China, family & gender, migration & social mobility)
E. Luhr, Ph.D.
Email: Eileen.Luhr@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone: (562) 985-4511
Office Hours: M/W 2:00-4:00P & by appointment
Professor
Advisor, Social Science Credential Program
United States (modern/contemporary U.S., politics, religion, cultural)
B. Mizelle, Ph.D.
Email: Brett.Mizelle@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-109
Phone: (562) 985-4424
Office Hours: M/W 1:00-2:00P & by appointment
Professor
Director, American Studies
United States, American studies (cultural, Early Republic and Antebellum, human-animal relationships, nature/culture)
C. Murdock, Ph.D.
Email: C.Murdock@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-203
Phone: (562) 985-2601
Office Hours: Tu 2:00-3:00P; Th 9:30-10:30A & by appointment
Professor
Graduate Advisor
Modern Europe, Central & Eastern Europe, Germany (borderlands, social, cultural, transnational)
C. Ponce de Leon, Ph.D.
Email: Charles.Poncedeleon@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214
Phone: (562) 985-4425
Office Hours: 11:00-12:00P & by appointment  
Professor United States, American Studies (20th c. Cultural and Intellectual, Mass Media)

N. Quam-Wickham, Ph.D.
Email: Nancy.Quam-Wickham@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-208
Phone: (562) 985-4449
Office Hours: 3:45-5:00P; Tu online; W 3:45-5:00P & by appointment

Professor 

United States (Western)

S. Sayegh, Ph.D.
Email: Sharlene.Sayegh@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-110
Phone: (562) 985-5428
Office Hours: None Spring 2018

Lecturer Europe, World, Critical Theory (early modern & modern Britain, methods & critical thinking)
S. Schrank, Ph.D.
Email: Sarah.Schrank@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-204
Phone: (562) 985-2293
Office Hours: Tu 3:30-6:30P & by appointment
Professor United States (urban, public art, culture, women, California)
D. Shafer, Ph.D.
Email: david.shafer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-102
Phone: (562) 985-4431
Office Hours: Days and hours vary. Please check with dept. office or email directly for an appointment.
Professor
Chair, Department of History
Modern Europe (France, revolutions, cultural)
D. Sheridan, Ph.D.
Email: David.Sheridan@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118
Phone: (562) 985-4458
Office Hours: Tu 9:45-10:45A, 5:00-6:30P; Th 9:45-10:45A & by appointment
Lecturer Modern Europe (Britain, gender, music, culture)
S. Smith
Email: sean.smith@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-212
Phone: (562) 985-4419
Office Hours: Tu/W/Th 4:00-6:30P & by appointment
 Lecturer  United States (19th c. American West, social & cultural)
M. Takeuchi, Ph.D.
Email: Michiko.Takeuchi@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-114
Phone: (562) 985-4440
Office Hours: Tu/Th 1:30-3:00P & by appointment
Assistant Professor Japan (U.S.-Japan relations, women, sexuality)
H. Wilford, Ph.D.
Email: hugh.wilford@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216
Phone: (562) 985-4422
Office Hours: None Spring 2018    
Professor United States (20th c., intellectual & diplomatic)

Part-Time Faculty

Professor Name Professor Title Professor Interests
M. Archibald
Email: Melissa.Archibald@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215
Phone: (562) 985-4524
Office Hours: M/W 9:30-10:00A; T/Th 9:30-12:00P & by appointment
Lecturer United States (culture, comic books/graphic novels, urban, women, film/television), History Education (pedagogy, translation of scholarship into schools), World (early modern)
G. Beirich
Email: Gregory.Beirich@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-111
Phone: (562) 985-4431 (dept. office)
Office Hours: M/W 9:30-10:45P, 12:30-1:30P & by appointment
Lecturer Medieval Europe (intellectual & religious, monasticism & heresy)
D. Binkiewicz
Email: Donna.Binkiewicz@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-107
Phone: (562) 985-4423
Office Hours: Tu/Th 9:00-9:30A, 1:00-2:00P & by appointment
Lecturer United States (recent, politics & culture)

D. Bolelli
Email: Daniele.Bollelli@csulb.edu
Office: FO3-306
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: Th 5:00-6:30P & by appointment

Lecturer United States, Ancient Rome, Native American History, History of World Religions
N. Cates
Email: Neal.Cates@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201
Phone: (562) 985-4423
Office Hours: 6:55-8:00P & by appointment
Lecturer History education in secondary schools, World History, Globalizing US History 
I. DeSanto
Email: Ingrid.DeSanto@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-110
Phone: (562) 985-5248
Office Hours: Tu 11:00-12:15P; W 5:00-6:00P; Th 11:00-12:15P & by appointment
Lecturer World History, Dutch Empire, and Women’s History
R. Flamein, Ph.D.
Email: Richard.Flamein@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-218
Phone: (562) 985-4612
Office Hours: M/W 2:00-3:30P & by appointment
 Lecturer  
A. Fogleman
Email: Andrew.Fogleman@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-214
Phone: (562) 985-4425
Office Hours: 4:00-5:00P (HIST 499); W 4:00-5:00P (HIST 301) & by appointment
Lecturer  
S. Gonzalez Doo
Email: Stephanie.Gonzalez@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216
Phone: (562) 985-4422
Office Hours: T/Th 2:30-3:00P, 5:00-6:00P & by appointment
Lecturer  

United States and World (20th c., Cold War, U.S.-Latin America, Migration, Revolutions, Decolonization)

G. Hamilton
Email: Gail.Hamilton@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: Th 7:00-8:00P & by appointment

 Lecturer  
L. Hashima
Email: Larry.Hashima@csulb.edu
Office: FO3-317
Phone: (562) 985-4822
Office Hours: Tu/Th 1:00-2:30P & by appointment
Lecturer  
H. Hernandez
Email: Holly.Hernandez@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-209
Phone: (562) 985-5279
Office Hours: Tu 2:30-3:30P & by appointment
Lecturer  
B. Jackson
Email: Brande.Jackson@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: M 3:30-4:30P; W 11:30-12:30P & by appointment
 Lecturer  

American Social Movements, Los Angeles & California cultures and history, pop culture & media

Y. Kiazolu
Email: Yatta.Kiazolu@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-201
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: Tu 3:30-5:30P & by appointment
Lecturer  
M. Larsen
Email: Mik.Larsen@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-108
Phone: (562) 985-4612
Office Hours: M/W 1:00-3:00P, 5:00-6:00P & by appointment
 Lecturer  
L. Maram
Email: Linda.Maram@csulb.edu
Office: n/a
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: None Spring 2018 
 Lecturer  
L. Mehlbrech
Email: Linda.Mehlbrech@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117
Phone: (562) 985-4428
Office Hours: By appointment
 Lecturer  
M. Momdjian
Email: Maran.Momdjian@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215
Phone: (562) 985-4524
Office Hours: M/W 1:00-2:00P & by appointment
Lecturer  
R. Morris
Email: Racheli.Morris@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-210
Phone: (562) 985-2196
Office Hours: T/Th 10:00-11:00A by appointment only
 Lecturer  

W. Mullikin
Email: Wanda.Mullikin@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-118
Phone: (562) 985-4458
Office Hours: 9:20-10:00A; Tu 9:20-10:20A & by appointment

Lecturer World, United States (immigration)
B. O’Neil, Ph.D.
Email: Brian.Oneil@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-111
Phone: (562) 985-4410
Office Hours: Tu/Th 2:00-3:00P & by appointment
Lecturer United States (foreign relations, U.S.-Latin America, WWII, Cold War & Vietnam, immigration, CA history)
C. Parker
Email: Caitlin.Parker@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-216
Phone: (562) 985-4422
Office Hours: M 5:00-7:00P; 9:30-10:30A & by appointment
 Lecturer  US History (Post-1945, Political, Urban, and Race/Ethnicity)

A. Rosas
Email: Abigail.Rosas@csulb.edu
Office: MHB-209A
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: Tu 9:00-11:00A; Th 12:30-1:30P & by appointment

   
R. Ruvalcaba, Ph.D.
Email: Romina.Ruvalcaba@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-107
Phone: (562) 985-4423
Office Hours: M/W 11:00-12:15P & by appointment    
Lecturer  
H. Schillig
Email: Hollie.Schillig@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-202
Phone: (562) 985-2408
Office Hours: By appointment only
Lecturer World
R. Schraff
Email: n/a
Office: n/a
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: n/a 
 Lecturer  
J. Serrano Najera
Email:  JoseLuis.SerranoNajera@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-215
Phone: (562) 985-4524
Office Hours: Th 5:15-6:15P & by appointment
 Lecturer  
M. Stonis
Email: michelle.stonis@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-113
Phone: (562) 985-4419
Office Hours: Tu/Th 12:15-1:45P & by appointment
Lecturer  

A. Striegl
Email: Anton.Striegl@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-122
Phone: n/a
Office Hours: Th 3:00-4:00P & by appointment

 Lecturer  United States

A. Wemmer
Email: Adam.Wemmer@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-117
Phone: (562) 985-4428
Office Hours: Tu 4:00-5:00P & by appointment

 Lecturer History Education, Development of reading and writing literacy, Civic Education

A. Withers
Email: Amber.Withers@csulb.edu
Office: FO2-220
Phone: (562) 985-4465
Office Hours: Tu 11:00-1:00P & by appointment

Lecturer