Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
History Department banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font




Congratulations to Charles Ponce de Leon, whose new book That’s the Way It Is: A History of Television News in America is featured on Inside CSULB this month.  (September, 2015)


Tim Keirn and Eileen Luhr Win the American Historical Association’s 2013 William and Edwyna Gilbert Award

Washington, DC— Tim Keirn, coordinator of the Social Science Program at California State University Long-Beach and lecturer in the Department of History and Liberal Studies, and Eileen Luhr, associate professor of history and advisor of the Social Science Credential Program, have been selected as the winners of the 2013 William and Edwyna Gilbert Award for their article, “Subject Matter Counts: The Pre-Service Teaching and Learning of Historical Thinking,” (The History Teacher, Volume 45, Number 4, 2012, pp 493-511). The Gilbert Prize is awarded annually by the American Historical Association (AHA) in recognition of outstanding contributions to the teaching of history through the publication of journal articles. The prize will be awarded during a ceremony at the Association’s 128th Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, January 2-5, 2014.

Keirn and Luhr were selected by a teaching prize review committee of AHA members including Paul G.E. Clemens, Chair (Rutgers Univ., New Brunswick), Maribel Dietz (Louisiana State Univ., Baton Rouge), William R. Everdell (Saint Ann’s Sch.), and Roland Spickermann (Univ. of Texas, Permian Basin).

“Keirn and Luhr not only report on the diminishing role of history departments in preparing students to teach history in the secondary school system, but also show that new teachers who have combined rigorous undergraduate training in history with traditional pedagogic training in history education do better in the high school classroom.” noted Paul G.E. Clemens, the 2013 Asher Prize committee chair and professor of history at Rutgers University-New Brunswick.

Originally named the “William Gilbert Award” in memory of William Gilbert, a longtime AHA member and distinguished scholar-teacher of the Renaissance at the University of Kansas, the prize was renamed the William and Edwyna Gilbert Award in 2012 after his widow Edwyna Gilbert passed away and left a considerable contribution to the award.

The American Historical Association is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies. The AHA provides leadership for the discipline, protects academic freedom, develops professional standards, aids in the pursuit and publication of scholarship, and supplies various services to sustain and enhance the work of its members. As the largest organization of historians in the United States, the AHA is comprised of over 14,000 members and serves historians representing every historical period and geographical area. For further information, visit or call 202-544-2422.


At the 28th annual all-CSU Research Competition, our very own Marissa Jenrich earned top honors in the Humanities and Letters (Undergraduate) category with her paper titled “Narrating Norah: Economic Identity for Irish Immigrant Women in New York City, 1855-1865.”   This research was done when Marissa was an undergraduate. She is now a graduate student in the History program.

Congratulations, Marissa!  And kudos to her faculty mentor, Dr. Jane Dabel!