Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
History Department banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Oral History Program

General Information


Ali Igmen , Program Director ~ FO2-116 ~ Tel: (562) 985-8765 ~ Fax: (562) 985-5431, aigmen@csulb.edu


The Oral History Program at CSULB is an instructional program within the History Department. Students can take oral history classes in conjunction with other courses or can pursue research, including thesis research, using oral history.

The Oral History Program also serves as a resource for faculty, students and local community groups, including K-12 schools, to help them promote and use oral history in both teaching and research. An instructional video, Adventures in Oral History: Oral History in the K-12 Classroom, made in cooperation with the Long Beach Unified School District, is available for a small shipping and handling fee.

Oral History is not a degree granting program. However, students can incorporate oral history into their programs and earn either a Bachelor or Master of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies. And unlike many oral history programs, the CSULB program is not primarily a collection program that initiates oral history projects. Nevertheless, we have been able to establish and expand significant holdings in oral history by archiving the work of a host of students and faculty. Because of the strength of some of our collections, several outsiders have deposited their work in the Oral History Archive. Although these materials are currently available only in the CSULB Library, large portions of the collections will be made available in our Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive.

 

 


 

For further information contact: Ali Igmen, Oral History Program Director, Department of History, California State University, Long Beach, 1250 Bellflower Blvd., Long Beach, CA 90840. Tel.: (562) 985-8765. Fax: (562) 985-5431. E-mail: aigmen@csulb.edu.

 


    Upcoming Events

    • No events.

    DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY
    Hours:
    Mon-Thur: 8-noon, 1-5
    Friday: 8-noon, 1-4

    Contact Information:
    Phone: 562-985-4431
    Office: FO2-106

    Mailing Address:
    1250 Bellflower Blvd
    Long Beach, CA 90840-1601

    Fall 2015 History Advising Schedule

    Department Chair Dr. David Shafer, FO2-102, david.shafer@csulb.edu
    Days/hour vary, please contact the department office

    Undergraduate
    Dr. Jane Dabel, FO2-202, jane.dabel@csulb.edu
    Tuesdays: 8:00-9:00 am; 11:00-12:00 pm
    Thursdays: 8:00-9:00 am; 11:00-12:00 pm
    Fridays by appointment

    Ali Igmen, FO2-116, ali.igmen@csulb.edu
    Mondays: 1:00-3:00 pm
    Wednesdays: 1:00-3:00 pm
    Thursdays by appointment

    Graduate
    Dr. Caitlin Murdock, FO2-203, c.murdock@csulb.edu
    Tuesdays: 11:00-12:30 pm
    Thursdays: 12:00-1:30 pm

    Credential
    Dr. Eileen Luhr, FO2-122, eileen.luhr@csulb.edu
    Mondays: 3:00-6:00 pm
    Tuesdays: 1:30-3:30 pm

    The above hours are on a walk-in basis. Additional hours may be available by appointment. If you would like to schedule an appointment with an advisor, e-mail the advisor directly. Please give them the courtesy of at least 24 hours to respond to your e-mail request.

    RedPin