Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Linguistics Banner Large
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Linguistics Faculty

Faculty

Photograph Information
Picture of Rebekha Abbuhl

Dr. Rebekha Abbuhl

PSY 209
(562) 985-1393
Rebekha.Abbuhl@csulb.edu

Second language acquisition; second language writing; research methods; statistics for linguistic research

Picture of Michael Ahland

Dr. Michael Ahland

PSY 207
(562) 985-1146
Michael.Ahland@csulb.edu

Syntax; typology; historical linguistics; tone; language documentation; Ethiopian languages

Picture of Michael Fender

Dr. Michael Fender

PSY 219
(562) 985-7596
Michael.Fender@csulb.edu

First and second language literacy acquisition

Picture of Malcolm Finney

Dr. Malcolm Finney

PSY 409
(562) 985-7425
Malcolm.Finney@csulb.edu

Language acquisition, bilingualism, Pidgin & Creole studies

Picture of Nancy Hall

Dr. Nancy Hall

PSY 217
(562) 985-2656
Nancy.Hall@csulb.edu

Phonetics; phonology; corpus linguistics; Semitic languages

Dr. Sarvenaz Hatami

PSY 415
(562) 985-5914
Sarvenaz.Hatami@csulb.edu

Second language vocabulary teaching and learning; second language teacher education

Picture of Alexandra Jaffe

Dr. Alexandra Jaffe

PSY 114
(562) 985-2594
Alexandra.Jaffe@csulb.edu

linguistic anthropology, sociolinguistics, Corsica, minority languages, education, media

Picture of Wendy Klein

Dr. Wendy Klein

PSY 221
(562) 985-8828
Wendy.Klein@csulb.edu

Language and culture; sociolinguistics; linguistic anthropology; ethnography of communication; Japanese

Picture of Barbara Lemaster

Dr. Barbara Lemaster

FO3-303
(562) 985-5037
Barbara.Lemaster@csulb.edu

Deaf sign languages; language and gender.

 Wanette Reynolds

Dr. Wanette Reynolds

PSY 413
562-985-1874
Wanette.Reynolds@csulb.edu

bimodal bilingual language development, sign language acquisition, referent cohesion in sign languages, narrative development, heritage signers

Picture of Amir Sharifi

Dr. Amir Sharifi

PSY 403
(562) 985-8509
Amir.Sharifi@csulb.edu

Literacy socialization; Persian orthographic tradition; language and education; Kurdish as a heritage language.

 

Lecturers

Photograph Information
 

Dr. Colleen Ahland

FO5-214

(562)985-4835

colleen.ahland@csulb.edu

 

Dr. Matthew Davidson

13.matt@gmail.com

Language documentation; language typology; historical linguistics; Wakashan languages

Picture of Ranida Delarosa

Ranida Delarosa

mrsdelarosa@ca.rr.com

Language acquisition; Southeast Asian dialects

Picture of Cheryl Fantuzzi

Dr. Cheryl Fantuzzi

cherylfantuzzi@gmail.com

Language acquisition

Picture of Joseph Galasso

Dr. Joseph Galasso

joseph.galasso@csun.edu

Syntactic processing, language acquisition

Picture of Petra Lott

Dr. Petra Lott

petralott@sbcglobal.net

Psycholinguistics; aphasia; linguistic effects of depression; German

 

Edward Kelly

PSY 433
edkelly1955@gmail.com

lecturer-selfie

Rezenet Moges-Riedel

PSY 433
researcher@erinad.org

 Haleema Welji

Haleema Welji

FO5-231

(562)985-5159

hwelji@ucsd.edu

Religious rhetoric, moral development, gesture, socialization

 

Emeritus Faculty

Photograph Information
Picture of John Attinasi

Dr. John Attinasi

Picture of Robert Hertz Dr. Robert Hertz
Picture of Lorraine Kumpf

Dr. Lorraine Kumpf

Lorraine.Kumpf@csulb.edu

Discourse and grammar, functional syntax, formulaicity, African languages

Picture of Xiaoping Liang

Dr. Xiaoping Liang

Xiaoping.Liang@csulb.edu

Picture of Carol Lord

Dr. Carol Lord

Carol.Lord@csulb.edu

Language structures and historical change; language proficiency and assessments; literacy

Picture of Stephen Ross Dr. Stephen Ross
Picture of Sara Smith Dr. Sara Smith

 

In Memoriam

Photograph Information
Picture of Pamela Bunte Dr. Pamela Bunte