Faculty

Faculty

TENURED/TENURE-TRACK FACULTY

‚Äč

 Mary Caputi Mary Caputi
Ph.D, Cornell University
Political theory, feminist theory, post-colonialism, critical theory, psychoanalysis
Email: Mary.Caputi@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 237
Phone:(562) 985-4702

Anand Commissiong
Ph.D, Rutgers University
Political theory
Email: Anand.Commissiong@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 231
Phone: (562) 985-4961

 Darin Dewitt Darin DeWitt
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
Undergraduate Advisor (Last names L-Z)
American Institutions, Political Parties, State Politics
Email: Darin.Dewitt@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 227
Phone: (562) 985-4711
Larry George Larry George
Ph.D, Princeton University
International politics, political theory, religion and political violence
Email: Larry.George@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 239
Phone: (562) 985-5289
 FullSizeRender Cora Goldstein
Ph.D, University of Chicago
Graduate Coordinator
Comparative politics, military occupations, democratization by force, politics and culture 
Email: Cora.Goldstein@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 247
Phone: (562) 985-4852
  Liesl Haas
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Latin American politics, gender and politics, religion and politics
Email: Liesl.Haas@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 233
Phone: (562) 985-5860
  Richard Haesly
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Undergraduate Advisor (Last names A-K)
Comparative politics, nationalism, national identities, human rights, religion
Email: Rich.Haesly@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 245
Phone: (562) 985-4700
 charlesmahoney2-340w Charles Mahoney
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
International security, terrorism, insurgency, private military and security corporations
Email: Charles.Mahoney@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 229
Phone: (562) 985-8203
  Larry Martinez
Ph.D, University of California, Santa Barbara
Model United Nations Director
International relations, cyberspace, and outer space governance
Email: Larry.Martinez@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 235
Phone: (562) 985-4713
Kathryn Perkins Website Picture Kathryn J. Perkins
Ph.D, University of North Texas
Internship Advisor
American Politics, Law and Courts, Interest Groups, LGBTQ Politics, Environmental Law and Policy 
Email: Kathryn.Perkins@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 223
Phone: (562) 985-4708
  Amy Cabrera Rasmussen
Ph.D, Yale University

American politics and public policy, health care, reproductive and sexual health, intersectionality, and interpretive methods
Email: Amy.Rasmussen@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 243
Phone: (562) 985-4719
  Kevin Wallsten
Ph.D, University of California Berkeley
American politics, political behavior, mass media and internet
Email: Kevin.Wallsten@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 225
Phone: (562) 985-4709
  Jason Whitehead
Ph.D, University of Southern California, J.D., Willamette University
Legal Studies Director
Law and courts, judicial politics, judicial decision making, constitutional law, legal theory, religion and law
Email: Jason.Whitehead@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 251
Phone: (562) 985-4712
  Teresa Wright
Ph.D, University of California, Berkeley
Department Chair
Comparative politics, China/Taiwan, social movements, capitalism and democracy
Email: Teresa.Wright@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 257
Phone: (562) 985-4705

LECTURERS

Photograph Information
  Edgar Kaskla
Ph.D, University of California Irvine
PSSA Advisor
International political economy, American political economy and the power elite, California government, East European politics, theory, and politics of the future
Email: Edgar.Kaskla@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 249
Phone: (562) 985-7091
 Metaxas Faculty Photo

Christopher Metaxas
Ph.D (ABD), University of California, Riverside
Comparative politics and international relations 
Email: Christopher.Metaxas@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 354
Phone: (562) 985-2720

Roger Morton
Ph.D, University of California, Irvine
Public policy, nonprofits, public administration, urban politics
Email: Roger.Morton@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 352
Phone: (562) 985-8802
  Lewis Ringel
Ph.D, University of Maryland

Moot Court Director 
Judicial internship, media and politics, and constitutional law

Email: Lewis.Ringel@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 336
Phone: (562) 985-5682

PART-TIME LECTURERS

Photograph Information
  Matthew Atkinson
Email: Matthew.Atkinson@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 241
Phone: (562) 985-4897
  Douglas Cantor
Email: Douglas.Cantor@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 338
Phone: (562) 985-4715
 
Alfredo Carlos
Email: Alfredo.Carlos@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 346
Phone: (562) 985-4746
  Michael Chan
Email: Michael.Chan@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 340
Phone: (562) 985-4716
  Som Chounlamountry
Email: Som.Chounlamountry@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 346
Phone: (562) 985-4746
  Richard Goldin
Email: Richard.Goldin@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 344
Phone: (562) 985-4736
  Savannah Johnston
Email: Savannah.Johnston@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 344
Phone: (562) 985-4736
  Justin Levitt
Email: Justin.Levitt@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 338
Phone: (562) 985-4715
  Matthew McGarvey
Email: Matt.McGarvey@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 352
Phone: (562) 985-8802
  Vahid Niayesh
Email: Vahid.Niayesh@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 241
Phone: (562) 985-4897
  Robert Shurtz
Email: Robert.Shurtz@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 340
Phone: (562) 985-4716
 

JoAnn Victor
Email: Joann.Victor@csulb.edu
Office: SS/PA: 344
Phone: (562) 985-4736