Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Political Science Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty

TENURED/TENURE-TRACK FACULTY

Photograph Information
  Mary Caputi
Ph.D, Cornell University
Political theory, feminist theory, post-colonialism, critical theory, psychoanalysis
Email: Mary.Caputi@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 237
Phone:(562) 985-4702
Chris Dennis
Ph.D, University of Georgia
American politics, the impact of partisan party control on economic policy and outcomes
Email: Chris.Dennis@csulb.edu
Office SSPA 241
Phone: (562) 985-4897
 Darin Dewitt Darin DeWitt
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
American Institutions, Political Parties, State Politics
Email: Darin.Dewitt@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 227
Phone: (562) 985-4711
Larry George
Ph.D, Princeton University
International politics, political theory, religion and political violence
Email: Larry.George@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 239
Phone: (562) 985-5289
 FullSizeRender Cora Goldstein
Ph.D, University of Chicago
Graduate Coordinator
Comparative politics, military occupations, democratization by force, politics and culture 
Email: Cora.Goldstein@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 247
Phone: (562) 985-4852
  Liesl Haas
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Latin American politics, gender and politics, religion and politics
Email: Liesl.Haas@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 233
Phone: (562) 985-5860
  Richard Haesly
Ph.D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Undergraduate Advisor (Last names A-K)
Comparative politics, nationalism, national identities, human rights, religion
Email: Rich.Haesly@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 245
Phone: (562) 985-4700
 charlesmahoney2-340w Charles Mahoney
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
Internship Advisor
International security, terrorism, insurgency, private military and security corporations
Email: Charles.Mahoney@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 229
Phone: (562) 985-8203
  Larry Martinez
Ph.D, University of California, Santa Barbara
Model United Nations Director
International relations, cyberspace, and outer space governance
Email: Larry.Martinez@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 235
Phone: (562) 985-4713
  Charles Noble
Ph.D, University of California, Berkeley
American politics, social movements, public policy, and political economy
Email: Charles.Noble@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 241
Phone: (562) 985-4897
  Amy Cabrera Rasmussen
Ph.D, Yale University
Undergraduate Advisor (Last names L-Z)
American politics and public policy, health care, reproductive and sexual health, intersectionality, and interpretive methods
Email: Amy.Rasmussen@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 243
Phone: (562) 985-4719
 

Barry Steiner
Ph.D, Columbia University
International relations, war and peace studies, and international conflict management
Email: Barry.Steiner@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 231
Phone: (562) 985-4961

  Kevin Wallsten
Ph.D, University of California Berkeley
American politics, political behavior, mass media and internet
Email: Kevin.Wallsten@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 225
Phone: (562) 985-4709
  Jason Whitehead
J.D., Willamette University, Ph.D, University of Southern California
Legal Studies Director
Law and courts, judicial politics, judicial decision making, constitutional law, legal theory, religion and law
Email: Jason.Whitehead@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 251
Phone: (562) 985-4712
  Teresa Wright
Ph.D, University of California, Berkeley
Department Chair
Comparative politics, China/Taiwan, social movements, capitalism and democracy
Email: Teresa.Wright@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 257
Phone: (562) 985-4705

LECTURERS

Photograph Information
  Edgar Kaskla
Ph.D, University of California Irvine
PSSA Advisor
International political economy, American political economy and the power elite, California government, East European politics, theory, and politics of the future
Email: Edgar.Kaskla@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 249
Phone: (562) 985-7091
  Lewis Ringel
Ph.D, University of Maryland, 
Moot Court Director
Moot Court, judicial internship, media and politics, and constitutional law
Email: Lewis.Ringel@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 223
Phone: (562) 985-4708

PART-TIME LECTURERS

Photograph Information
   
  Alfredo Carlos
Ph.D, University of California, Irvine
American Political Economy, Urban Politics, Economic Democracy, Racial and Ethnic Politics in the US, Mexican and Latin American Politics
Email: Alfredo.Carlos@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 346
Phone: (562) 985-4746
  Michael Chan
Ph.D, Claremont Graduate University
Political theory
Email: Michael.Chan@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 340
Phone: (562) 985-4716
  Som Chounlamountry
M.A. University of Southern California
American & Californian government, international relations, political movements, terrorism & genocide
Email: Som.Chounlamountry@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 223
Phone: (562) 985-4708
  James Fox
J.D., University of California, Hastings College of Law.
Email: James.Fox@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 338
Phone: (562) 985-4715
  Richard Goldin
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
Political theory
Email: Richard.Goldin@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 344
Phone: (562) 985-4736
   
  Justin Levitt
M.A. University of California, San Diego; Doctoral Candidate, University of California, San Diego.
Email: Justin.Levitt@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 338
Phone: (562) 985-4715
  Christopher Metaxas
M.A. California State University, Long Beach; Doctoral Candidate, University of California, Riverside
Comparative politics, Latin American politics, and international relations
Email: Christopher.Metaxas@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 346
Phone: (562) 985-4746
  Roger Morton
Ph.D, University of California, Irvine
Public policy, nonprofits, public administration, urban politics
Email: Roger.Morton@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 346
Phone: (562) 985-4746
  Robert Shurtz
Ph.D, University of California, Los Angeles
International relations
Email: Robert.Shurtz@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 340
Phone: (562) 985-4716
 

JoAnn Victor
J.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Ethnic politics, the presidency, the justice system, “street law”
Email: Joann.Victor@csulb.edu
Office: SSPA 344
Phone: (562) 985-4736