Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Psychology
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty

Faculty Office Hours

Department Faculty History

Tenured & Tenure-Track Faculty

cahrens Courtney Ahrens
Professor
Courtney.Ahrens@csulb.edu
(562) 985 – 2191
Office: PSY 319
Classes taught: Domestic Violence (Psy 278), Psychology of Women (Psy 354), Child Development (Psy 361), Community Psychology (Psy 375), Fieldwork in Psychology (Psy 405), Qualitative Methods (Psy 423/523)
jamirkha James Amirkhan
Professor
James.Amirkhan@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5351
Office: PSY 335
Classes taught: Assessment (Psy 314), Personality (Psy 356), Current Issues in Personality (Psy 458), Graduate Seminar in Personality (Psy 656)
books Dan Chiappe
Professor
Dan.Chiappe@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5024
Office: PSY 226
Classes taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Human Cognition (Psy 332), Psychology of Happiness (Psy 337), Animal Cognition (Psy 343), Evolutionary Psychology (Psy 346I), History of Psychology (Psy 401/501), Seminar in Situation Awareness (Psy 635)
ycho1 Young-Hee Cho
Professor
Young-Hee.Cho@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5019
Office: PSY 331
Classes taught: Introductory Statistics (Psy 210), Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310), Statistical Design and Analysis of Experiments (Psy 411/511), Multivariate Statistical Analysis (Psy 412/512)
Chi-Ah Chi-Ah Chun
Professor
Chi-Ah.Chun@csulb.edu
(562) 985-7608
Office: PSY 325
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Asian American Personality and Mental Health (Psy 368), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370), Honors Program
books Maricela Correa-Chavez
Assistant Professor
Maricela.Correa@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5017
Office: PSY 223
Classes Taught: Child and Adolescent Development (Psy 361), Social Personality Development (Psy 463)
 mfiebert Martin Fiebert
Professor
Martin.Fiebert@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5027
Office: PSY 226
Classes Taught: Introduction to Clinical Psychology (Psy 373), Introduction to Family Therapy (Psy 407/507), Clinical Interviewing (Psy 475/575)
books Gino Galvez
Assistant Professor
gino.galvez@csulb.edu
Office: PSY 239
Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351)
Araceli Araceli Gonzalez
Assistant Professor
Araceli.Gonzalez@csulb.edu
(562) 985-8979
Office: PSY 229
Classes Taught: Developmental Psychopathology (Psy 363), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370), Psychology of Addiction (Psy 477)
May Ling May Ling Halim
Assistant Professor
MayLing.Halim@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5020
Office: PSY 329
Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351), Child & Adolescent Development (Psy 361), Psy of Adult Development & Aging (Psy 365), Developmental Psychology (Psy 662)
books Diane Lee
Professor
Diane.Lee@csulb.edu
Office: PSY 421
Classes Taught:  Psy of Learning (Psy 333), History of Psychology (Psy 401),  Research in Cognition & Learning (Psy 433), Research in Physiological Psychology (Psy 441)
books Lisa Maxfield
Professor
Lisa.Maxfield@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5029
Office: PSY 327
Classes Taught: Intro to Psy as a Discipline and Profession (Psy 301), Applications of Psychology (Psy Resource Office – PRO) (Psy 406)
jmiles
Jim Miles
Assistant Professor
Jim.Miles@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5030
Office: Psy 427
Classes Taught: Sensation & Perception (Psy 331), Human Cognition (Psy 332), Research in Cognition & Learning (Psy 433/533)
wpederse William Pedersen
Professor
Bill.Pedersen@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5010
Office: PSY 231
Classes Taught: Statistical Design and Analysis of Experiments (Psy 411/511),  Social Psychology (Psy 351),  Introductory Statistics (Psy 210), Psychology and Contemporary Social Issues (Psy 350)
sspan Sherry Span
Professor
Sherry.Span@csulb.edu
(562) 985-7429
Office: PSY 321
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370), Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457)
 books Lindsey Sterling
Assistant Professor
lindsey.sterling@csulb.edu
Office: PSY 317
Classes Taught: Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370)
tstrybel Thomas Strybel
Professor
Thomas.Strybel@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5035
Office: PSY 425
Classes Taught: Computer Applications in Psychology (Psy 418/518), Sensation & Perception (Psy 331),  Human Factors (Psy 427/527), Human Factors Methods (Psy 627)
dthoman Dustin Thoman
Associate Professor
Dustin.Thoman@csulb.edu
Office: PSY 27
Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351) Graduate Seminar in Social Psychology (Psy 651) Multivariate Statistics (Psy 412/512)
 books Guido Urizar, Jr.
Associate Professor
Guido.Urizar@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5160
Office: PSY 225
Classes Taught: Health Psychology (PSY 378) Psychology of Stress (PSY 379)
Kim Kim-Phuong Vu
Professor
Kim.Vu@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5021
Office: PSY 333
Classes Taught: Research Methods (Psy 200)  Introduction to Human Factors (Psy 327), Cognition (Psy 332), Human Factors (Psy 427/527),  Seminar in Perception and Attention (Psy 633)
Chris Christopher Warren
Associate Professor
C.Warren@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5025
Office: PSY 241
Classes Taught: Research Methods (Psy 220), Intro to Industrial/Organizational Psychology (Psy 381), Group Dynamics (Psy 453/553) Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457), Research in I-O (PSY 582), Issues in Training (PSY 686), Practicum (Psy 688)
 Amy Wax Amy Wax
Assistant Professor
awax@gatech.edu
Office: PSY 233
Classes Taught: Intro to I/O Psychology (Psy 381), Issues in Organizational Development (Psy 683)
dwhitney Dave Whitney (Department Chair)
Professor
Dave.Whitney@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5038
Office: PSY 104
Classes Taught: Introductory Statistics (Psy 210), Autism Spectrum Disorders (Psy 362), Intro to Industrial/Organizational Psychology (Psy 381), Test Construction (PSY 515), Personnel Psychology (Psy 585), Issues in Training (PSY 686), Practicum (Psy 688)
Arturo Arturo Zavala
Associate Professor
Arturo.Zavala@csulb.edu
(562) 985-2077
Office: PSY 429
Classes Taught: Psychobiology (PSY 241), Psychopharmacology (PSY 342), Research in Physiological Psychology (PSY 441/541)

Faculty Lecturers

books Linda Alexander
Linda.Alexander@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Psychology of Women (Psy 354)
books Marwa Azab
Marwa.Azab@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Psychobiology (Psy 241), Neuropsychology (Psy 341), Social Psychology (Psy 351), Psychology of Stress (Psy 379)
 books Jayme Bernfeld
Jayme.Bernfeld@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Psychological Assessment (Psy 314), Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457)
 books Anila Bhagavatula
Anilapb@yahoo.com
Classes Taught: Mind Control or Freedom (Psy 300), Social Psychology (Psy 351)
 books Carol Ann Caesar
CarolAnn@vancecaesar.com
Classes Taught: Self Observation (Psy 359), Psychology of Stress (Psy 379), History of Psychology (Psy 401/501), Psychology of Addiction (Psy 477)
books Wilson Chu
Wilson.Chu@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Statistics (Psy 210), Research Methods (Psy 220), Human Cognition (Psy 332)
Ronda Ronda Cowan
Ronda.Cowan@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351), Personality (Psy 356)
 books Betty Deckard
B.Deckard@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Psychology of Learning (Psy 333), Psychobiology (Psy 241), Physiology of Behavior (Psy 340), Neuropsychology (Psy 341)
books Betsy Decyk
Betsy.Decyk@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), History of Psychology (Psy 401/501)
books Angela De Dios
Angelaclarkuniversity@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Adult Development (Psy365)
books Kristin Drumheller
Kristin.Drumheller@csulb.edu
Classes TaughtEmotions (Psy 336), History of Psychology (401/501)
 books John Dwyer
John.Dwyer@csulb.edu
Classes TaughtResearch Methods (Psy 220)
Joan Joan Fisher
Joan.Fisher@csulb.edu
Classes TaughtGeneral Psychology (Psy 100), Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Introductory Statistics (Psy 210), Research Methods (Psy 220), Human Cognition (Psy 332)
 Nuria Nuria Giralt
Nuria.Giralt@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Introductory Statistics (Psy 210), Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310), Sensation and Perception (Psy 331), Human Cognition (Psy 332), Child and Adolescent Development (Psy 361), Psychology and Current Social Issues (Psy 350), Forensic Psychology (Psy 495)
books Marianne Grosvenor
marianneg_13@hotmail.com
Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130)
books Anita Hamilton
ahamilton@chla.usc.edu
Classes Taught: Psychological Assessment (Psy 314)
 books Rose Hanna
Rose.Hanna@csulb.edu
Classes Taught:  Personality & Social Behavior (Psy 150), Psychology of Women (Psy 354),  Psychology and Contemporary Issues (Psy 350)
books Christian Herrera
cherrer2@uci.edu
Classes Taught: Human Cognition (Psy 332)
books Sabine Huemer
Sabine.Huemer@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Autism Spectrum Disorders (Psy 362)
books Annette Iversen
Annette.Iversen@csulb.edu
Classes TaughtGeneral Psychology (Psy 100), Personality (Psy 356), Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457)
books Matthew Jackson
mcjacks@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Personality (Psy 356)
 books Amy Jennings
Amy.Jennings@csulb.edu
On leave in 2015-16
books Carey Killian
Carey.Killian@csulb.edu
Classes taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Mind Control (Psy 300), Psy as a Discipline & Profession (Psy 301)
 books Alyce LaViolette
(562) 493-1161 x2
Classes Taught: Psychology of Women (Psy 354)
 books Andrew Lohmann
Andrew.Lohmann@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Evolutionary Psychology (Psy 346), Social Issues (Psy 350), Social Psychology (Psy 351), Community Psychology (Psy 375)
books Heather McLernon
heather.mclernon@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310)
books Stephanie Meyers
Stephanie.Meyers@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Statistics (Psy 210), Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310)
books Nicole Miovsky
nicolemiovsky@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Intro Statistics (Psy 210)
books Samar Needham
Samar.Needham@csulb.edu
On leave in Fall 2015
books Deborah Nelson
deborah.i.nelson@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Introduction to Human Factors (Psy 327)
books Thuan (Mary) Ngo
thuan.ngo@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Introduction to Human Factors (Psy 327)
books Bernadette O’Leary
fahamivu@sbcglobal.net
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Developmental Psychopathology (Psy 363), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370)
 cpentz Clyde Pentz
Clyde.Pentz@csulb.edu
On leave in Fall 2015
 Judy Judy Quon
Judy.Quon@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Intro to I/O Psychology (Psy 381), Women, Family and Work Issues (Psy 383)
books Daisy Reynaga
daisyds@uci.edu
Classes Taught: Psychopharmacology (Psy 342)
books Anamara Ritt-Olson
arittolson@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351), Personality (Psy 356)
books Steven Rivera
steve.rivera@lacity.org
Classes Taught: Personnel Psychology (Psy 585)
 rosenberg Richard Rosenberg
Richard.Rosenberg@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Statistics (Psy 210), Research Methods (Psy 220), Psychopharmacology (Psy 342)
 Saberi Dorit Saberi
mynaja@yahoo.com
Classes Taught: Psychology and the Law (Psy 495)
books Misty Sawatzky
dawn8888@hotmail.com
Classes Taught: Psychology as Discipline & Profession (Psy 301), Applications of Psychology (Psy Resource Office – PRO) (Psy 406), Statistics Design Analysis (Psy 411.511)
Scott Ronald Scott
Ronald.Scott@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370), Intro to Clinical Psychology (Psy 373)
books Craig Siders
siderscraig@gmail.com
Classes TaughtAbnormal Psychology (Psy 370), Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457)
books Michael Wheeler
mjwheels@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Psychological Assessment (Psy 314)