Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Psychology
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty

Faculty Office Hours

Department Faculty History

Tenured & Tenure-Track Faculty

cahrens Courtney Ahrens
Professor
Courtney.Ahrens@csulb.edu
(562) 985 – 2191
Office: PSY 319
Classes taught: Domestic Violence (Psy 278), Psychology of Women (Psy 354), Child Development (Psy 361), Community Psychology (Psy 375), Fieldwork in Psychology (Psy 405), Qualitative Methods (Psy 423/523)
 jamirkha James Amirkhan
Professor
James.Amirkhan@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5351
Office: PSY 335
Classes taught: Assessment (Psy 314), Personality (Psy 356), Current Issues in Personality (Psy 458), Graduate Seminar in Personality (Psy 656)
 Books Dan Chiappe
Professor
Dan.Chiappe@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5024
Office: PSY 226
Classes taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Human Cognition (Psy 332), Psychology of Happiness (Psy 337), Evolutionary Psychology (Psy 346), History of Psychology (Psy 401/501), Animal Cognition (Psy 435), Seminar in Situation Awareness (Psy 635)
 ycho1 Young-Hee Cho
Professor
Young-Hee.Cho@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5019
Office: PSY 331
Classes taught: Introductory Statistics (Psy 110/210), Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310), Statistical Design and Analysis of Experiments (Psy 411/511), Multivariate Statistical Analysis (Psy 412/512)
 Chi-Ah Chi-Ah Chun
Professor
Chi-Ah.Chun@csulb.edu
(562) 985-7608
Office: PSY 325
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370)
 Books Maricela Correa-Chavez
Assistant Professor
Maricela.Correa@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5017
Office: PSY 223
Classes Taught: Research Methods (Psy 220), Child and Adolescent Development (Psy 361), Social Personality Development (Psy 463)
 mfiebert Martin Fiebert
Professor
Martin.Fiebert@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5027
Office: PSY 226
Classes Taught: Introduction to Clinical Psychology (Psy 373), Introduction to Family Therapy (Psy 407/507), Clinical Interviewing (Psy 475/575)
 Books Gino Galvez
Assistant Professor
gino.galvez@csulb.edu
Office: PSY 239
Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351), Test Construction (Psy 515)
 Araceli Araceli Gonzalez
Assistant Professor
Araceli.Gonzalez@csulb.edu
(562) 985-8979
Office: PSY 229
Classes Taught: Developmental Psychopathology (Psy 363), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370), Psychology of Addiction (Psy 477)
 May Ling May Ling Halim
Assistant Professor
MayLing.Halim@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5020
Office: PSY 329
Classes TaughtSocial Psychology (Psy 351), Child & Adolescent Development (Psy 361), Psy of Adult Development & Aging (Psy 365), Developmental Psychology (Psy 662)
 Books Danielle Kohfeldt
Assistant Professor
Danielle.kohfeldt@csulb.edu
(562) 985-
Office: PSY
Classes Taught: Social Psy (Psy 351), Community Psy (Psy 375)
 Diane Diane Lee
Professor
Diane.Lee@csulb.edu
Office: PSY 421
Classes Taught:  Psychobiology (Psy 241), Psychology of Learning (Psy 333), History of Psychology (Psy 401/501),  Research in Physiological Psychology (Psy 441), Proseminar on Graduate Research (Psy 596), Seminar in Perception & Physiological Psychology (Psy 631), Seminar in Learning (Psy 632)
 Books Lisa Maxfield
Professor
Lisa.Maxfield@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5029
Office: PSY 327
Classes Taught: Intro to Psy as a Discipline and Profession (Psy 301), Applications of Psychology (Psy Resource Office – PRO) (Psy 406)
 jmiles Jim Miles
Assistant Professor
Jim.Miles@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5030
Office: Psy 427
Classes Taught: Sensation & Perception (Psy 331), Human Cognition (Psy 332), Research in Cognition & Learning (Psy 433/533)
 Bill William Pedersen
Professor
Bill.Pedersen@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5010
Office: PSY 231
Classes Taught: Introductory Statistics (Psy 110/210),  Psychology and Contemporary Social Issues (Psy 350), Social Psychology (Psy 351),   Statistical Design and Analysis of Experiments (Psy 411/511)
 sspan Sherry Span
Professor
Sherry.Span@csulb.edu
(562) 985-7429
Office: PSY 321
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370), Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457)
 Lindsey Lindsey Sterling
Assistant Professor
lindsey.sterling@csulb.edu
(562) 985-8183
Office: PSY 317
Classes Taught: Autism Spectrum Disorders (Psy 362), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370)
 tstrybel Thomas Strybel
Professor
Thomas.Strybel@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5035
Office: PSY 425
Classes Taught: Sensation & Perception (Psy 331), Computer Applications in Psychology (Psy 418/518), Human Factors (Psy 427/527), Human Factors Methods (Psy 627)
 Books Yada Treesukosol
Assistant Professor
Yada.treesukosol@csulb.edu
(562) 985-
Office: PSY
Classes Taught: Psychobiology (Psy 241), Psy of Learning (Psy 333)
 Books Guido Urizar, Jr.
Professor
Guido.Urizar@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5160
Office: PSY 225
Classes Taught: Health Psychology (PSY 378) Psychology of Stress (PSY 379), Graduate Research Methods (Psy 696)
 Kim Kim-Phuong Vu
Professor
Kim.Vu@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5021
Office: PSY 333
Classes Taught: Research Methods (Psy 220)  Introduction to Human Factors (Psy 327), Cognition (Psy 332), Human Factors (Psy 427/527),  Seminar in Perception and Attention (Psy 633)
 Chris Christopher Warren
Associate Professor
C.Warren@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5025
Office: PSY 241
Classes Taught: Research Methods (Psy 220), Intro to Industrial/Organizational Psychology (Psy 381), Group Dynamics (Psy 453/553) Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457), Research in I-O (PSY 582), Issues in Training (PSY 686), Practicum (Psy 688)
 Amy Wax Amy Wax
Assistant Professor
amy.wax@csulb.edu
(562)985-5023
Office: PSY 233
Classes Taught: Intro to I/O Psychology (Psy 381), Organizational Psychology (Psy 581), Issues in Organizational Development (Psy 683), Practicum in I/O Psychology (Psy 688)
 dwhitney Dave Whitney (Department Chair)
Professor
Dave.Whitney@csulb.edu
(562) 985-5038
Office: PSY 104
Classes Taught: Introductory Statistics (Psy 110/210), Autism Spectrum Disorders (Psy 362), Intro to Industrial/Organizational Psychology (Psy 381), Test Construction (Psy 515), Personnel Psychology (Psy 585), Issues in Training (PSY 686), Practicum (Psy 688)
 Arturo Arturo Zavala
Associate Professor
Arturo.Zavala@csulb.edu
(562) 985-2077
Office: PSY 429
Classes Taught: Psychobiology (PSY 241), Psychopharmacology (PSY 342), Research in Physiological Psychology (PSY 441/541)

Faculty Lecturers Fall 2016

 Alexander Linda Alexander
Linda.Alexander@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Psychology of Women (Psy 354)
 Books Marwa Azab
Marwa.Azab@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Psychobiology (Psy 241), Neuropsychology (Psy 341), Social Psychology (Psy 351), Psychology of Stress (Psy 379)
 Bhagavatula Anila Bhagavatula
Anilapb@yahoo.com
Classes Taught: Mind Control or Freedom (Psy 300), Social Psychology (Psy 351)
 Books Carol Ann Caesar
CarolAnn@vancecaesar.com
Classes Taught: Self Observation (Psy 359), Psychology of Stress (Psy 379), History of Psychology (Psy 401/501), Psychology of Addiction (Psy 477)
 Chu Wilson Chu
Wilson.Chu@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Statistics (Psy 110), Research Methods (Psy 220), Human Cognition (Psy 332)
 Cowan Ronda Cowan
Ronda.Cowan@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351), Personality (Psy 356)
 Books Betty Deckard
B.Deckard@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Psychology of Learning (Psy 333), Psychobiology (Psy 241), Physiology of Behavior (Psy 340), Neuropsychology (Psy 341)
 Books Angela De Dios
professor.dedios@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Intro Psychology (Psy 100), Adult Development (Psy365)
 Books Aldwin Domingo
aldwin.domingo@tuw.edu
Classes Taught: Human Cognition (Psy 332)
 Books John Dwyer
John.Dwyer@csulb.edu
Classes TaughtResearch Methods (Psy 220)
 Fisher Joan Fisher
Joan.Fisher@csulb.edu
Classes TaughtGeneral Psychology (Psy 100), Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Introductory Statistics (Psy 110/210), Research Methods (Psy 220), Human Cognition (Psy 332)
 Books Cassandra Gearhart
cassandra.gearhart@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Fieldwork (Psy 405)
 Giralt Nuria Giralt
Nuria.Giralt@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Introductory Statistics (Psy 110/210), Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310), Sensation and Perception (Psy 331), Human Cognition (Psy 332), Child and Adolescent Development (Psy 361), Psychology and Current Social Issues (Psy 350), Forensic Psychology (Psy 495)
 Books Marianne Grosvenor
marianneg_13@hotmail.com
Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130)
 Books Elyse Hallett
elyse.hallett@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Intro to Human Factors (Psy 327)
 Books Anita Hamilton
ahamilton@chla.usc.edu
Classes Taught: Psychological Assessment (Psy 314)
 Books Rose Hanna
Rose.Hanna@csulb.edu
Classes Taught:  Personality & Social Behavior (Psy 150), Psychology of Women (Psy 354),  Psychology and Contemporary Issues (Psy 350)
 Books Annette Iversen
Annette.Iversen@csulb.edu
Classes TaughtGeneral Psychology (Psy 100), Personality (Psy 356), Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457)
 Books Matthew Jackson
matthew.jackson@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Sem in Social Psychology (Psy 651)
 Books Jayme Jones
Jayme.Jones@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Psychological Assessment (Psy 314), Psychology of Sexuality (Psy 457)
 Books Carey Killian
Carey.Killian@csulb.edu
Classes taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Mind Control (Psy 300), Psy as a Discipline & Profession (Psy 301)
 LaViolette Alyce LaViolette
(562) 493-1161 x2
Classes Taught: Psychology of Women (Psy 354)
 Books Margaret Lewis
meg@workgame.com
Classes Taught: Group Dynamics (Psy 453/553)
 Books Andrew Lohmann
Andrew.Lohmann@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Evolutionary Psychology (Psy 346), Social Issues (Psy 350), Social Psychology (Psy 351), Community Psychology (Psy 375)
 Books Tannaz Mirchi
tannaz.mirchi@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Intro to Human Factors (Psy 327)
 Books Samar Needham
Samar.Needham@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Statistics (Psy 110/210), Research Methods (Psy 220), Intermediate Statistics (Psy 310)
 O'Leary Bernadette O’Leary
fahamivu@sbcglobal.net
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Developmental Psychopathology (Psy 363), Abnormal Psychology (Psy 370)
 Books Bron Pellissier
Bron.pellissier@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Special Topics (Psy 490)
 Books Robert Preijers
robert.preijers@csulb.eduClasses Taught: Serial Killers and Psychopaths (Psy 377)
 Quon Judy QuonJudy.Quon@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: General Psychology (Psy 100), Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Intro to I/O Psychology (Psy 381), Women, Family and Work Issues (Psy 383)
 Books Anamara Ritt-Olson
arittolson@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Social Psychology (Psy 351), Personality (Psy 356)
 Books Steve Riverasteve.rivera@lacity.org
Classes Taught: Personnel Psychology (Psy 585)
 Rosenberg Richard Rosenberg
Richard.Rosenberg@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Statistics (Psy 110/210), Research Methods (Psy 220), Psychopharmacology (Psy 342)
 Saberi Dorit Saberi
mynaja@yahoo.com
Classes Taught: Psychology and the Law (Psy 495)
 Sawatzky Misty Sawatzky
Misty.Sawatzky@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Psychology as Discipline & Profession (Psy 301), Applications of Psychology (Psy Resource Office – PRO) (Psy 406), Statistics Design Analysis (Psy 411/511)
 Books Craig Siders
craig.siders@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: Psy of Sexuality (Psy 457)
 Books Stefanie Tweedly
stefanie.tweedly@csulb.edu
Classes Taught: History of Psychology (Psy 401/501)
 Books Bailey Weinberg
wendisb@roadrunner.com
Classes Taught: Issues in Training (Psy 686)
 Wheeler Michael Wheeler
mjwheels@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Critical Thinking (Psy 130), Psychological Assessment (Psy 314)
 Books Keikilani Williams
Dr.kmwilliams@gmail.com
Classes Taught: Health Psychology (Psy 379), Psy of Addiction (Psy 477)