Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Balboa Research Banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

Arrowhead Theatre

Arrowhead Theatre (May 1911—August 1911; renamed Joyland Theatre, 1912)

Address: 335-341, The Pike—West End of Pike; directly north of the Unique Theater (1911)

Capacity: 100 seats

No Photo Available

Arrowhead Theatre was built by the California Motion Picture Manufacturing Co. Arrowhead was a short-lived theatre, having been built by the studio for promotional purposes, later renamed: Joyland.

Joyland Theatre: Listed at 341, The Pike in the 1913-14 Long Beach city directory. Then at 337 in the 1914-15 and 1915-16 directories. Then it’s listed at 335, The Pike in1916-17.

Balboa Films 23: Along with the increased film production in Long Beach, there was also an increase in the number of movie theatres. Comfort and luxury became serious concerns in erecting these movie houses. For example, in June 1912, the Long Beach Press reported that workmen were busy remodeling and redecorating the old Arrowhead Theatre, to be renamed “Joyland,” the “Homeland of the Silent Actors.” At this renovated theatre there would be loges at the rear of the audience, equipped with movable and individual chairs, with a total seating capacity of 100 persons. In addition, there would be a special box for private parties in one corner, and the newspaper emphasized that the moving picture machine would be operated from a fire-proof cabinet.

“Long Beach’s Nickel Movie Days,” Independent Press Telegram (Aug. 02, 1964), by Maymie Krythe: In 1912, when the business partners, William J. Fahey and William Raymond, sold out, Fahey became owner of Joyland and introduced Paramount films. An orchestra was added to this movie house and the price was raised to ten cents. In 1916, as Krythe explains, Fahey also opened the Palace and later bought the State Theatre in 1922.