Professional Development and Career Readiness

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND CAREER READINESS

Internship Fridays

 ""

In order to make sure that students get the most out of their internships, the College of Liberal Arts has established a series of speakers and interactive workshops open to CLA students who are completing internships. 

Offered on select Fridays throughout the academic year, these events provide opportunities for students to build professional skills such as interviewing and networking, as well as discuss internship and related career issues.

Spring Semester Internship Fridays Events

Event Calendar POsterInternship Panel: How to Make the Most of Your Internship
Friday, February 1, 10 – 11 am @ PSY-150

The Art of Networking
Friday, March 1, 10 – 11 am @ PSY-150

Alumni Advice: Keys to Career Success
Friday, April 12, 10 – 11 am @ PSY-150

 

 

To download a PDF version of the Spring Event calendar, please click here.

 


Career Readiness

To help students prepare for finding an internship, the College of Liberal Arts offers career readiness workshops and one-on-one career coaching sessions.

Topics include:

"" Resume and Cover Letter Writing "" Internship Search Tools & Techniques
"" Networking "" Interviewing preparation

Spring Career Readiness Events

Fall 18 Calendar Build a Better Resume 
Wednesday, February 13, 12:30-1:30 PM @ PH1-101

Internship Search Strategies
Wednesday, February 20, 12:30-1:30 PM @ LAB-212

Ready, Set Goals!
Tuesday, March 5, 2:00-3:00 PM @ PH1-110

Build a Better Resume
Thursday, March 14, 2:00-3:00 PM @ PH1-100

Smart Salary Negotiations
Wednesday, March 20, 4:00-6:00 PM @ BH-250

Internship Search Strategies
Thursday, March 21, 12:30-1:30 PM @ LAB-212

Own the Interview
Tuesday, April 9, 12:30-1:45 PM @ PH1-109

Own the Interview
Wednesday, April 10, 12:30-1:45 PM @ PH1-109

Are You LinkedIn?
Tuesday, April 16, 12:30-1:30 PM @ LAB-212

Build a Better Resume
Monday, April 29, 11 AM-12 PM @ PH1-110

Internship Search Strategies
Monday, May 6, 12:30-1:30 PM @ LAB-212


Spring Campus Events

The Career Development Center also hosts a variety of workshops and events to help students prepare for and apply to internships. For more information about these events, visit www.careers.csulb.edu.

Health, Human, & Public Services Fair
Thursday, February 7, 12:00-4:00 PM @ USU Ballrooms

Business Job & Internship Fair
Wednesday, February 27, 12:00-4:00 PM @ USU Ballrooms

Hospitality Career Expo
Wednesday, March 13, 12:00-3:00 PM @ USU Ballrooms

Social Impact Industry Spotlight
Thursday, March 28, 4:00-6:00 PM @ BH-250

Educators’ Job Fair
Friday, April 19, 12:00-4:00 PM @ USU Ballrooms

To download a PDF version of the Spring Event calendar, please click here.